Death does not take a holiday

I have held my breath. Another Thanksgiving behind us. No phone call bringing bad news. Last year the call came from Texas the day after Thanksgiving with news that my dear friend, Gail, had passed away the night before, only a few miles from my house. Her sister who made the call left it to me and our other friend to take care of all the issues that come when someone dies, like cleaning out the house. It would be almost Christmas before all the tasks were accomplished and the grief was overwhelming, keeping the joy out of the holiday season.

Twelve years ago the phone call came on the Sunday after Thanksgiving. My 86 year old mother had suffered a major stroke and had no chance to recover. The doctor told us she would be gone within a week, but she lingered for a month, dying on Christmas morning. The holiday season spent in sadness and pain.

This holiday season will have celebrations, parties, events in which I will participate, but with baited breath, waiting for what might happen. The sadness still lingers. Hanging around in the corners.

7 responses to “Death does not take a holiday

  1. I will think positive thoughts for you.

  2. sympathies. I know it is hard.

  3. Holidays are hard for everyone, but especially for those who have lost loved ones during the season. I hope this year will be a good, kind one for you and indeed, for all of us.

    • So far, so good, so I have high hopes for a nice holiday season. That was one of the reasons I decided to make fruitcake, and I’m planning to do a gingerbread house with my granddaughter. These are things I have not done before, and certainly could not have done last year due to being so busy emptying my friend’s house as well as grieving.

  4. Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry that this is such a sad time of year for you. It’s hard for my son-in-law too. His brother died at 21 suddenly on his birthday very close to Christmas. They always go and visit his grave every year and put an ornament on the evergreen tree that happens to be next to where he is resting.

    • Many people lose loved ones at the holiday season. I have some theories on that, but again, death is not a respecter of time or place. I have found that my stories, only told orally until now, have been of comfort to others who have lost loved ones at this time of the year. It is something we get through, but the memory is always there.

Leave a Reply

