Tis the season

I’m sure you are all waging a war against days too short with too much to do. I eat breakfast before the sun comes up and dinner is served after dark. Makes for some quick days around here. They are jam-packed with things to do. One thing that is taking a backseat, though, is writing. There doesn’t seem to be time to sit and ponder and put words together. This morning, while the laundry tumbles in the dryer, and before I take off to look for a few gifts, I will tell you about our very busy weekend.

We are spending our December weekends, excluding Sundays when I teach Sunday School, taking care of our tiny grandchildren. Upon arrival at their home on Friday, Leeya and I decorated a gingerbread house that a friend had constructed:

SONY DSC

 

In the afternoon, after naps, we headed to the mall to see the decorations and buy some tights for Leeya. This is a favorite spot of ours for a photograph:

IMG_2652The next day we came back and took the kids to Central Park where we visited Leon, the giraffe:

SONY DSC

 

We dug in the sand, played on the playground equipment, visited the Secret Garden, and ran around in the Japanese Garden before heading home to warm baths, lunch, and naps. I think I must have gone down the slide a few too many times with Judah as I was feeling my 60 years the next day. Next week, we will go back and have more adventures.

Here is the final results for the gingerbread house. I thought Leeya did a really good job for a 3 year old. Of course, I’m highly prejudiced.

IMG_2647

 

4 responses to “Tis the season

  1. good job on the gingerbread house, you’re truly blessed to be able to spend such quality time with your sweet grandchildren, thanks for sharing!

  2. OH my! Leeya did an excellent job with the gingerbread house. She certainly has steady, artistic hands!

  3. She did a great job with the gingerbread house. I don’t think it would have looked any better if any other artist had created it. Now I have a picture in my head of you going down that slide! It sure makes me smile. :-)

  4. Pingback: A cordial anniversary | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a Reply

