Tell people

Still stunned from last week’s carnage, I sit and listen to the stories of lives lost. Heroes who protected small children. Small children who had already lived remarkable lives but had so much more to do. Stories cut short with an improper ending. And I think of all the people in my life who mean so much and yet, if they were gone today, would they know how much they mean. Or, would their story be told in past tense?

As I listened to friends and family talk about Sandy Hook’s principal, Dawn Hochsprung, I knew that her story as a prinicipal was true for so many like her. People who take on a very hard job and love what they are doing. They protect, guide, encourage, and just love the schools where they are assigned. They would do anything for “their” kids. Which, of course, Mrs. Hochsprung did. I can pretty much bet that she didn’t think twice about confronting the boy with the gun. She just knew what she had to do for “her” kids. It may not be in the job description, but it’s in the heart.

This morning, after listening to the stories of children, teachers, principal, I thought about those in our life who mean so much. We need to tell them, now, while they are still with us. This made me think of the principal for whom I worked the longest, Bob Reyes. For those dear Readers who have been here all along, you’ve heard me sing his praises before. Hard work being an inner city high school principal. Hard work with little appreciation for the tough choices that had to be made at times. I wrote Bob a Facebook message, for others to see as well as Bob, telling him what a great job he did as principal.

Bob Reyes & me at the last winter formal we attended.

Bob Reyes & me at the last winter formal we attended.

Who are the people in your life, dear Reader, who should be told, now, that they are your hero?

 

3 responses to “Tell people

  1. It’s so wonderful of you to let your principal know how you feel. You have certainly honored him. I agree with you about principals and teachers. I know so many who would have done the same thing. Your class are your children. You’d do everything it took to keep them safe.

  2. I will need to sit down and think about my own heroes. Most of them have been gone awhile, but I’ll bet there are still some, so thanks for the wonderful idea! :-)

  3. My two biggest heroes are my uncle and my dad. My uncle was in the Navy during the Korean War and his job as a radio operator was to scramble/decode/send coded messages. My daddy was Special Forces (a Green Beret) during Viet Nam. Four tours of duty. I still wear his leftover army socks at night. Yeah, this many years later.

Leave a Reply

