More juicing

I am continuing to use my Breville juicer that I bought for my Christmas gift. I really like making my own cranberry juice, especially with apples and basil. The vegetable juices are another matter. I can drink a little, but not much. I’ve tried refrigerating them to have the next day, but it’s as if they are fermenting. Maybe like that kobucha stuff that people drink. That’s not my goal. I want the fresh clean taste of the produce.Last week I got out all the veggies we had around here.

IMG_2742I made two sets of juice, a red/orange with the carrots, apple, IMG_2744fennel, and tomatoes.

And a green one with bok choy, kohlrabi, and chard. The orange drink was very good, the green one was rather nasty. IMG_2745Terry wouldn’t even try it when he got a whiff. The kohlrabi gave it a cabbage-like odor. I think some mint might have helped so I have bought mint to use in my next veggie juice. I use basil with the cranberry and it’s really good. Just got to figure out the right combinations.

17 responses to “More juicing

  1. May I ask which Breville juicer you got, and whether you like it? I am looking at a couple and have heard so many complaints about juicers in general! From what I can gather, Breville is one of the best brands, but as everyone knows, the quality of the models can vary too! Looks like you are having a lot of fun with it, regardless :-).

    • I have the juice fountain. My daughter has their least expensive model that has one speed and she loves it after using it for a year. When I heard she got it under $100, I started looking to see what was out there. Breville got really high ratings, and this particular one has two speeds and is really easy to use and clean up. I did have to rearrange my kitchen cabinets to find a place to put it.

  2. sounds like you are having fun with this!

  3. I know it sounds surprising, but you get used to the green juices the more you drink them. Your palate gets accustomed to them, and they are super healthy. I would add an apple or two just to sweeten it up a bit. :)

    • I am discovering that we like the fruit juices the best so I am throwing a few kale leaves into the mix. Today it was cranberry/apple/pear/kale/basil. We also like pineapple/carrot/kale/mint. Cruciferous veggies just do not work.

  4. Hi Delaine! Have you checked out the “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead” website? The guy that made that documentary is all about juicing. That’s how my husband got started juicing and we have the same Breville juicer. :) There are some good ones on the website to try. My husband will do all greens… spinach, kale, cilantro, green apples, celery and cucumber. Too many greens for me but he likes it.

  5. Good for you! You should be feeling quite healthy! Since my retirement, we are eating healthier since I am cooking almost every meal rather than us eating out as often.

    • Lynda, we rarely eat out. I cook healthy meals, with lots of veggies because we get a CSA box each week. It’s the greens (kale, chard, collards) that I cannot stand if they are just cooked. Putting them into the juicer gets them into my body.

  6. Wow, they look so tasty. Or at least the first one does. I think you get used to the taste of the green ones, but sometimes something just doesn’t work. I am thinking of getting a juicer and am curious about them all… thanks for the review! :-)

  7. I will be perfectly happy to follow your experimentation from here. Dianne

  8. Good for you! That looks very healthy. It’s fun to try different combinations. I do that with my smoothies.

  9. certainabsurdity

    I’m curious… How much fruit, etc you have to start off with to get a glass of juice? The amount of fresh stuff I have on hand at this time of the year is a lot less than when it’s warm.

  10. Pingback: It was a very healthy year | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a Reply

