Review, reflect, begin again

I really did go through my journals, calendars, and blogs during the last few days of 2012. Just like I said I would.

Here are some of the end-of-the-year findings:

  • Spent months working on the church history and then continued to redo the archives.
  • Began teaching Sunday School
  • Helped three elderly friends with transportation and health issues
  • Volunteered at Ronald McDonald House
  • Helped with Vacation Bible School at daughter’ church
  • Participated with Fresno Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Volunteered at Kearney Mansion for the Fresno Historical Society
  • Wrote posts for two blogs
  • Wrote one historical novel, started research for a second
  • Wrote one short story, wrote introduction to another
  • Wrote personal Twitter & Facebook posts
  • Wrote Twitter posts for church
  • Wrote Facebook posts for nonprofit agency
  • Made two photo books for grandchildren

In January I have started to craft my plans for the year–more writing, more photography. I don’t want more stuff in my life, but rather more experiences, more friends, more relationships. I am working on being reliable and following through on my what I feel I should be doing.

One area where I am not getting too far is my goal of walking more, taking photos, and writing about it. Today was the first day I actually went somewhere with those goals in mind.  I had read about a new art gallery opening in a 100-year old building on a block near the inner city high school where I taught for all those years.

Terry and I went to the open house, viewed the art work, chatted with one of painters. I took photos and Tweeted the experience, while on site. We then walked over to see the new construction going on at the high school. On the way back to the car, we walked by the church where we were married 38 years ago. Today there was another wedding being held in the tiny chapel so we peeked in and reminisced.

The years pass so quickly, and I know 2013 will be gone in a flash. January has already passed and I don’t have much to show for it. Looking forward to the next week and the plans I have for the days lying there on the calendar.

 

 

7 responses to “Review, reflect, begin again

  1. Hope the plans for the rest of the year go well!

    • Christine, I am not a tourist. If I travel, I want to go somewhere and stay for awhile, become part of the landscape, so to speak. I think it’s my control-freak nature. I like to know what’s going to happen and where I’m going. I like the comfort of the known.

  2. You have been one busy person! Yes it will pass quickly, but at the end of the year I hope you’ll be pleased with all you accomplished. :-)

    • Thanks, DJan. I feel like I am doing so little, until I make a list of it. My life is so much calmer, easier, less painful than when I was teaching. My life was in manic mode then.

  3. I was VERY impressed with your accomplishments for the year. My eyes bulged on the “wrote one historical novel and started on another” part. You wrote that in ONE sentence like it was no big deal. Uh, excuse me, but that was A VERY BIG ACCOMPLISHMENT!!!! KUDOS TO YOU!!!

    • Maybe it should be edited to say “novella.” I did a check of words and found that my novel is only 33,000 words. A novella is 10,000-30,000 words. I am a minimalist writer. That’s why these posts are so brief.

Leave a Reply

