Early to rise…

All those years of teaching…I would be up by 5 a.m. and usually out the door by 7. That meant getting up in the dark, and on winter mornings, leaving in the dark. As my retirement day got closer, I was getting more anxious about those early mornings. I just wanted to stay in bed until daylight. Was that too much to ask?

Now, retired, Terry and I feel like lay-abouts if we are still in bed at 7, which rarely happens. Most mornings, except for the coldest and darkest in the winter, we are up around 6:15. The heater, or air conditioning in the summer, comes on at 5:40 and the house is fairly comfortable by the time I throw off the covers and spring to action. I am a morning person.

I try to get all my chores done before noon, and if I have errands to run, I really want to get out as soon as the places open. I make all my appointments for the earliest possible time. My mind is alert in the morning, running on all cylinders. I have lots of energy in the mornings. I feel great, ready to seize the day. By 4 p.m., however, that is another story.

My mind has begun to coast. My body is slowing. The enthusiasm for most tasks has dwindled to nil. Even talking to people, an activity I love, becomes a dreaded chore late in the day. As you can probably guess, I’m not much of a partier, especially if the event is after 6 p.m. That’s why I like my “ladies who lunch” group. We meet at 11:30, and by 2 we are on our separate ways.

Recently I read an article about “sundowning.” At first I was concerned as it sounded a bit like me, tired and melancholy at the end of the day, but it turns out that it’s more about anxiety and agitation in the evening, a symptom of Alzheimers. I am still concerned, though, that as I get older, I find myself less and less inclined to accept evening invitations or take on obligations that would require me to do something in the evening. Our church holds its Vacation Bible School in the evenings, and I have told a number of people lately that I am unwilling to participate. I am quite happy teaching in the early hours of the day, but after 4 p.m….well, you know the story.

11 responses to “Early to rise…

  1. I feel the same way – - – lots of energy in the morning and not much in the afternoon so like you, I do the physical stuff early and then do “sit-down” jobs later in the day – - – like updating the checkbook on the computer – - sorting through junk mail and getting it ready to recycle, etc. I hate to admit it but think it’s perhaps our age – - – or my underactive thyroid. Whatever – - I have learned to accept it and adapt.

  2. After 1 and 1/2 years in a 12pm to 9pm job, I realized that I’m a morning person too… I am just beginning to discover the things you mentioned here… The realization came in a bit late in life but I’m glad it finally came! :)))))

  3. by the way, what subjects and/or what level do you teach? *curious* :)

    • Inner city high school. My credential is business so I started out with classes like shorthand, keyboarding, office skills. Then it was 20 years of marketing, 1 and 3. The last 9 years I also did the yearbook and taught classes on multimedia.

  4. I have become a morning person I’m not sure when that happened. I used to be more of a night owl. I hear of people travelling to exotic places and I’m starting to think it’s not on my agenda anymore, a beach holiday seems to be all we’re up to. We’ll see as the kids get older.

    • I’m not a tourist type. Foreign travel holds little appeal to me. Maybe Paris, but otherwise, nah. I would like to see more of the United States as I have been to very few places. But, when one lives in California, home to some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, it’s hard to leave the state.

  5. I’ve always been a morning person. Now it seems impossible to stay awake after 8:00pm, and sometimes earlier. I doze in the chair and wonder why I don’t just go to bed! So I do. :-)

  6. I am totally opposite of you! I stay up late and rarely get out of bed before 8. My mojo doesn’t kick in right away! I wasn’t always like this, but not working for the last eight years because of being on the road has changed my habits.

  7. There is a MORNING??? I think the happiest day of my life was when I realized I no longer needed to live by the clock and could stay up as late as I wanted and sleep as late as I needed to. I always have been a night owl and when the kids left home, I was able to take advantage–and I most certainly do. ;)

Leave a Reply

