The plumber cometh

There has been a spot of moisture on the garage wall for about a month now. I’ve pondered it, off and on, as it’s next to the door from the garage to the kitchen. Could it be from all the rain we’ve received? Could it be a water leak, say from the hot water heater which is on the other end of the garage, and on the same wall? Could it be a leak in the pipe that would send water to the refrigerator, on the other side of the wall, if we had an ice maker or water dispenser on the fridge (we do not)? Today I noticed a small puddle behind the washing machine, opposite to that damp spot, so told Terry it was definitely time to call the plumber and be prepared for a large layout of cash to fix it.

The plumber came and after checking all the walls, all the connections, and finally the washing machine, found a very small leak in the bottom of the  washing machine, which happens to be around 25 years old, and determined the water was being wicked up in the plaster, causing the damp spot. He replaced the hoses which he felt might help, but the best remedy is a new washing machine.

I love the washing machine we have and it does a fine job of cleaning our clothes, but I’m willing to admit it’s time for replacements, both washer and dryer. The dryer is about 20 years old and sometimes makes an odd sound if I put heavy loads in it. I’ve gotten my money’s worth from both machines and can only hope the new ones will last as long. It will be costly to replace both machines at once, though.

One good thing from the plumber’s visit was getting Terry to vacuum the hot water heater “box,” which was covered in cobwebs. The plumber said to do that every six months rather than every six years like Terry usually does it!

7 responses to “The plumber cometh

  1. You better remember to dust the water heater box because, then you will know it is done on time. LOL Has Terry ever drained the hot water heater? That needs to be done to.

  2. Things eventually have to be replaced, time flies.

  3. Glad to hear that you found the source of the water. New appliances will be more energy efficient, but be forewarned that they won’t last as long as the old ones. Things just aren’t made as well as they used to be.

  4. You leave me smiling. My washer isn’t quite right, and the dryer is making odd noises. You have my sympathy.

  5. No. I;m not smug. Relieved that those days are behind me. I was beginning to feel that everything like puddles and smoke were catastrophes of the highest order 🙂

    You had extraordinary lucky with your washer and dryer.

    they don’t owe you a penny.

    XO
    WWW

  6. No kidding? 25 years old? I want your washer!

  7. I love to read these everyday happenings 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.