Half the day is gone

On school mornings I am up at 5 o’clock.  Not that I like getting up at that time, especially in the winter when it’s cold and very dark, but I like to read email and two newspapers before I leave for school.  I also have a few chores to do, like feed all the cats, and I always eat breakfast.  I leave time to sit quietly and pray before heading out the door at 6:55.  

On holidays and weekends, it is another story.  I’m usually up by 6 or 6:30 because I am a morning person and like to get all my chores and errands done early so I can goof off in the later part of the day.  This was the way I was raised, by farm parents, who believed you made hay while the sun shined, or in other words, get your work done, and then you can play.  Even during summer vacations, my mother had me up early because she was canning and freezing fruits and vegetables she had picked the evening before and I had to help.  This never worked with our city-bred daughter who slept in every holiday morning because I got all our fruits and vegetables at the nearby grocer.  The chores she had were limited to folding laundry and dusting.  

Due to a frenetic schedule the past four weeks, all those fieldtrips and tests, I am very tired, and when I awoke at 7:50 this morning, I was not too shocked.  I needed some extra sleep, but now, as my mother would say, “half the day is gone,” and the chores and errands still need to be done.  My husband, bless his heart, always makes pancakes on Saturdays, and there is a leisurely feel to the morning, with the sun streaming in the kitchen window, the newspapers begging me to linger and enjoy another cup of coffee and read every page.  Ok, maybe tomorrow I’ll get some work done.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.