Goodbye 2011, good riddance

I am thrilled to say goodbye to 2011. It was a sad year filled with loss, illness, death of friends and pets. The bright shining spot came in October when our grandson, Judah, was born. Also, in the second half of the year, I made two new friends with whom I hope to spend more time in 2012 and get to know better. My old friends are even more dear to me after this past year of severe losses, and I am making it a goal in 2012 to see them more often. I just hope they have a similar goal.

In taking stock of the last two months, trying to see where my life went off the rail, causing me to become so ill, Terry and I realized that we had only one fun spot in those weeks leading up to the end of the year. Even my doctor said that was not a wise way to live. We are looking at places on the calendar to plug in some fun events, together. We will be celebrating our 37th anniversary in February, and even after all these years, we still love to have fun with one another. My advice to young people:  marry someone with whom you can laugh and have lots of fun.

Goodbye 2011; don’t let the door hit you on the way out, just get out. Welcome 2012. I am hopeful you are bringing great joy. It is the year of the dragon, which is my sign. Maybe that’s a sign of good things to come. 

10 responses to “Goodbye 2011, good riddance

  1. I’m sorry 2011 was not a good one for you. It was OK for us. We had some good times although we didn’t get to see our son at all. I hope 2013 will be a whole lot better for you. Have a wonderful new year celebration!

  2. It was my 36th anniversary this year and the Year of the Dragon is mine as well – I knew there was a reason I found you!! Have a more peaceful 2012!

    • Yes, we have much in common. Except, I can no longer post on your blog as I no longer have a google account (or have lost my way to get to it.) Could you please allow others to post as I so often want to comment. Unless, do you have a Twitter, and I can comment there. That’s how I let Mrs. Bluebird know what I think as her blog is set the same way for comments.

  3. I hope next year is all you want it to be!

  4. Here’s to a new fresh year with lots of laughter, Delaine!

  5. Our 2011 had many financial setbacks, and I am grateful to have had the savings account to use. However, it is nearly empty, the credit card is still half full, the furnace is getting extra attention.
    My mother wants me to travel 600 miles in winter for her birthday party, but I just cannot get the budget to expand, nor can I forget my worry about the weather. This new year is not beginning well, and I am really wanting Spring already.

  6. There is great value in “intentional fun.”

    We cannot wait for fun to find us. It’s ok to plan for it and make it happen. (Lesson learned while in graduate school, of all places. Never finished the doctorate, but did learn a thing or two along the way.)

    • We are planning that fun, Lynn. We’re going to SF in a couple of weeks and will also spend time with our wonderful grandchildren. Then in February, for our anniversary, I have planned a trip to Santa Cruz. The boardwalk will be shut down, but I like it in the winter when it’s just the locals and sea gulls. There is a certain hauntedness to the place.

      • Sounds like our university town when the students are on a Break. I know their education is important, but my, the traffic near campus is so much easier during Holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

