Who? Me?

In the last two days I have had three people tell me that they see me as this  woman with a busy agenda. Really? For those of you who have been with me since my teaching days, you know what busy looked like. Those days were insanely busy, with n’er a moment to breath. That was one reason I knew I had to get out of education, I couldn’t keep living like that, and keep living.

In my classroom

I was like a cartoon character who just kept going and going. Now, I have time to do things, like relax.

Less tense

I can choose my tasks, like the history project for our church. I can take off, at a moment’s notice, and take care of my grandchildren. I have lunch with my girlfriends. Terry and I can get away for our anniversary. Yesterday I spent three hours on the phone with my sister. Wore out three phones! Life is just not so zany, to me, anyway. Maybe others see me still busy. And, perhaps still zany.

Playing with my granddaughter

8 responses to “Who? Me?

  1. Oooo, I like the scarf in the “less tense” photo. Nice! And I don’t know for sure if you are zany, but I have thought of you as “engaged” rather than “busy.” 🙂

    • Thanks, one of my teaching buddies gave the scarf to me to go with a brown coat I would wear. She had previously given me a scarf to go with the purple coat I had. I am not good at accessorizing. Also, I like the word engaged!

  2. sounds like you are at a wonderful time of your life!

  3. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a picture of you without your glasses on! Very nice.

    • It’s funny you should say that. I don’t wear them around the house because I really don’t need them. I wore them at school because I had so much to read during the day and found my eyes got tired w/o them. I can actually pass the eye exam w/o glasses & my eye dr thinks I don’t even need to wear them. They sort of became a fashion statement when I was teaching.

  4. I have been retired from education for a month and one thing you said really struck me. Couldn’t keep living that way and keep on living. Boy, it’s amazing how many people have commented on how much better I look. I have been able to keep my grandkids, work on my house (it’s still not as clean as it once was) and actually have coffee in the morning quite leisurely with my husband. I’m just glad we were one of the group that survived to enjoy it.

    • Congratulations on your retirement. It is a wonderful way to be living, as far as I’m concerned. Thanks so much for stopping by, hope to see you around more.

Leave a Reply

