Glad it’s Saturday

That seems an odd title for someone who is retired, and every day could be Saturday. But, this week has been horrendous. Not only did I have a couple of emergencies in there along with the usual tasks of the week,  but I had made a promise to deliver four dozen berrocks to the Ronald McDonald House on Friday.

Terry worked three nights at the local ball park (if I neglected to mention, he is doing video work for the city’s Triple A team that feeds the San Francisco Giants) so I had some quiet evenings to work on the berrocks. I cooked the roasts on Tuesday and made the filling and did the assembly on Wednesday and Thursday. Here we are delivering the finished product:

The picture was taken by the vice president of marketing at Ronald McDonald House who Terry was meeting with yesterday. He is going to be doing some photography work for them in the next few months, especially planning for their big ball in November. It will be like photographing the proms when I was teaching.

The connection to the Ronald McDonald House came through our work for the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, another organization for whom Terry takes photos. We are scheduled to attend a mixer this next week for the Chamber at a local jewelry store, which is kind of funny seeing that I don’t wear jewelry. Haven’t figured out how I should dress for the event, either. I don’t want to stand out in a good or bad way, just sort of blend into the background. Maybe wear something beige?

My calendar is full for the next week, so I am hopeful that all will be calm and mellow, with just the regularly scheduled activities.

6 responses to “Glad it’s Saturday

  1. Sounds good to me. Your picture shows you two to be happily working away, it seems. Nice job! 🙂

  2. What a wonderful project! I’ve never heard of berrocks, but it looks delicious from your link. I love the photo of you two.

    • Berrocks are very popular in this part of the country. We have a restaurant, just down the street, called the Berrock Shop, that sells dozens each day. The county fair always has a berrock booth that has long lines waiting for to pay $5 or $6 for one of these meat pies. I think it’s because of all the German-Russians in the area. They make these treats for harvest festivals and days of celebrations and got the rest of the population hooked.

      The vp of marketing for Ronald McDonald House insisted on the photo to use in her promotions. She and I are on Twitter together so I snagged the photo. I like it, too.

  3. Well, honestly, each time I return to your blog I find more to admire about you. You already were way up there on my list and now I don’t know where to put you. I read the link about making the berrocks. Had never heard of them, probably because I eat gluten free, but not I feel challenged to find a way to make them my way, with almond flour and make a bread dough. Your life sounds amazing. Full and busy and happy.

    • Thank you very much. I love my life and am so thankful that we are able to do so much. Your idea of gluten free dough is excellent. I have friends who are gluten intolerant so would love to hear your experience doing this. Thanks so much for coming by.

  4. certainabsurdity

    I have to laugh at your comment about wearing beige to the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce event. I have friends that are of Mexican descent and they laugh hysterically at the movie “Nacho Libre.” Their favorite line is when he’s asked what his favorite color is. “Light tan.” Being Norwegian, I don’t quite get the joke. But I think I have a pretty good idea…

Leave a Reply

