Summer time and the living is a reunion

Must be the season for reunions, family mostly. I’m hearing about them. Not from MY family, mind you. If they’re having one, they haven’t invited me. But that doesn’t surprise or disappoint me.

Long time ago, every few years, there would be a family reunion on my daddy’s side. Mama’s side never got together because they were pretty much all dead or all living on the other side of the country. Mama’s family who did come to California stayed in their own towns, not much into mingling. When Mama and Daddy were alive, we’d pile in the car and go to southern California because that’s where my mother’s brothers and a sister lived. They all had kids. Older than me. One of them had a husband who worked for Disney. We were there when Disneyland opened, courtesy of this cousin. Yes that was a long time ago. See, that’s why everyone is dead now. Well, not me. I was very young at the time.

Daddy’s brother and his kids, on the other hand, lived in the same town as us. Some still live there. Well, again, not me. But, it’s not too far from where I do live. The reunions were always planned by that side of the family. We, being the poor relations, would be invited, and we’d show up. Most of the time. Again, they were all older than me. Not a whole lot in common, if you get my drift.

So, now that I am old, most of the family is gone. Dead or scattered to other parts. The younger generations don’t know who any of the older ones are. Probably for the best. I have never been into genealogy because I figure what you don’t know can’t kill you. I figure there are horse thieves, bank robbers, and other miscreants in the bunch. Especially Mama’s side. Her family were Gypsies. Or, so I’ve been told. Having done no research of my own, who knows.

Daddy’s side, though, I recently learned, came over from Germany to help the English fight the revolutionaries. My ancestors weren’t too good at fighting, and so abandoned their posts and became part of the pioneers heading out west. You know, to places like Ohio. I always think it’s funny when I hear about the western expansion being to those states. Daddy’s dad left the midwest and went to Oklahoma and met up with an Indian divorcee, my grandma. We called them Indian back then, but it’s now Native American. Actually, it wasn’t Indian for my grandma. She always told people she wasn’t’ Indian because the Indians weren’t treated very well back in the late 1800s in the Oklahoma territory. But my grandpa liked what he saw in this very short, feisty woman. I take after her. They had seven kids. Okay, maybe I don’t take after her all that much.

So, that’s it for the family reunion around here. If you have a family that has one, hope you go, mingle, tell stories, and take pictures. And, if it’s anything like my daddy’s family, there is probably really good food to eat. My aunt and cousins were some of the best cooks around.

2 responses to “Summer time and the living is a reunion

  1. As a matter of fact, I am organizing another family get together in August. It’ll be great to see all the cousins again. It’s a lot more fun than only seeing them at funerals these days.

Leave a Reply

