A word about what’s for lunch

When I was teaching, I had a go-to lunch that never failed me–a small can of tuna, a bottle of tea, and a container of applesauce. I could throw it all in a bag in the morning, not worry about refrigerating it and have a decent and quick lunch at my desk.

At home, now, my go-to lunch is a piece of American cheese wrapped up in a flour tortilla and zapped in the microwave for 25 seconds. Filling and comforting and very quick.

I keep both sets of these ingredients on hand at all times just for a day like today. Came home from church where I had spent about an hour and half hand lettering addresses on postcards to send to the 100 or so children who came to our Vacation Bible School a couple of weeks ago. I no longer teach at our church’s VBS due to the fact that it’s held in the evening. I am useless with children after 4 p.m. You can ask my grandchildren. They will tell that Grandma pretty much gives ups, gives in, and lets them do as they please after 4 p.m. Most parents would find that reprehensible for a church teacher, so I make no attempt to teach or even help out during the week of the actual event. I will, though, do follow-up work like addressing postcards.

I have a complaint, though, about the work. Oh, not the actual hand-lettering. That’s rather fun to practice my printing skills. These are elementary age children. You cannot use cursive writing with them. They need to be able to read their names on the cards when they arrive in the mail in the next day or so. Of course, as you may have heard by now, cursive is no longer taught in public schools because there is only time to teach answer-sheet -bubbling technique, so high school students can’t read cursive, either. The last few years I taught, I was always having students tell me they couldn’t read what I had written on the board. And I have beautiful teacher writing. Then students starting telling me they never read anything on the board of any of their classes because if you waited around long enough, the teacher would either tell you the information or give you a handout with it, or in our tech-savvy world, give you a URL to go find it. I got out in the nick of time.

But back to the those postcards. The complaint I had was with the handwriting of the parents who signed up their child for this experience. I could not read their writing on many of the forms. Here’s a suggestion: when you must fill out a form that you know someone will be using later on, use your best penmanship, whether cursive or printed. And should you take your lunch, be sure to write your name in legible print, on the bag, so people will know it’s your food and not eat it.

9 responses to “A word about what’s for lunch

  1. I first contemplated the decline of society when I read an editorial in the NY Times 20+ years ago, about the decline of written communication, in which they used “who” for “whom”. I bet if my nephew’s tweeted me, I would have no idea what their short-hand (or should I say, short-thumbs) means.
    Oscar

    • I like texting and do use shortcuts there, but when writing, I try very hard to follow the conventions of proper grammar and spelling. I don’t always prevail, though. 8-0

  2. I wish I had a flour tortilla and some sliced cheese around, because that sounds tasty and soooo fast. I suppose I could make a tortilla, but that would sort of defeat the purpose of a quick snack!

    • I can get really good packaged tortillas at the grocery store. Today I put a scrambled egg in a warm tortilla. That worked well for a day when I had more time and inclination.

  3. your handy lunch sounds wonderful! Those are a lot of postcards!

    • Just learned that I have about 35 more postcards to hand address on Monday. The list I was given was for the children who registered in person. There are 35 who registered online. I am hopeful those names & addresses will be easy to read.

  4. Nice post, you bring back my memories. Tuna and crackers at my desk with a fruit dessert, sometimes applesauce. Teaching Church School all those years ago. I too like to keep ‘quick’ meals handy. Dianne

    • Never planned to teach Sunday School again, but there is a huge need and I think of those dear children who need a good teacher. And, I have the time and ability to do it. So, here goes.

  5. Spoken like a real teacher. I remember teaching cursive just for fun – shaving cream on top of the third-graders’ desks, even erasing was fun.

Leave a Reply

