Dr. Zody to the rescue

My next door neighbor was over yesterday afternoon. We were making plans for later when her two little granddaughters would be at her house to spend the night. The girls are ages 5 and 7, just the right age to try out some of my Sunday School materials. Did I tell you, dear Reader, that I am going back to teaching Sunday School after about a 20 year hiatus? Makes me a bit nervous. I’ll have the first and second grade in a rather odd time configuration. Our church no longer does Sunday School like it did in the 70s, 80s, and early 90s when I taught different grade levels, but mostly 4th grade. The young woman in charge of children’s ministries tells me it’s “the model” and I’m trying to reconfigure it as I’m going to be teaching the class EVERY Sunday. That’s how we did Sunday School all those many years ago. Now the teachers rotate. A different one every Sunday. I don’t think that’s good for little kids. But, it’s “the model.” I’m always flying against the “norm.”

So, wanting to get in some practice and check out the costumes I’m making for the Moses’s story, I thought my neighbor’s granddaughters would make for the perfect opportunity. They were coming later Friday evening to spend the night with their Grandma and Aunt Marsha because on Saturday they were all going to see the play, “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown,” at our local children’s playhouse. I don’t know who was more excited, the granddaughters or grandma.

In discussing Sunday School plans, my neighbor tells me her daughter is on the way home to New York City after a stay in Asheville, North Carolina, and has called to tell her mother of excruciating sciatic pain, pain so bad she can hardly drive but has to because she has her two cats with her and she needs to get home to New York. I tell Reba, my neighbor, about an exercise I do for sciatica, and even demonstrate.

This afternoon, Reba is at my door, so excited to tell me that her daughter called today, in tears, in so much pain that she was thinking of finding a hospital and stopping for a cortisone shot. Her mother describes my exercise to her, she stops, gets out, does the exercises, and is pain-free. She wanted her mother to come right over and thank me for the exercise. I am flabbergasted that it could work so quickly. I read about the exercise years ago in a magazine, and because I had trouble with my sciatica occasionally, decided to start doing the exercise every morning when I do a few others for some other issues I have. My sciatica hardly ever bothers me now.

Not only did the exercise work for her daughter, but Reba’s granddaughters had a great time being students in my Sunday School audition. Dr. Zody is successful!

6 responses to “Dr. Zody to the rescue

  1. Good luck with your new venture into Sunday school. Would love to hear about that sciatica exercise, I have a friend with that problem.

  2. Well, what IS that magic exercise for sciatica? I get that pain every now and then and would LOVE to know what it is…

  3. Told Terry that he’ll need to take some pictures of me doing the exercise as it’s kind of hard to describe, but here goes: Stand, with legs slightly apart, hands above head. Swivel the left hand back, behind you, trying to reach the right ankle. I’ve never been that limber and can only go so far. Bring the arm back up, over the head, and now do the same thing with the right arm, swiveling back towards the left ankle. It looks a bit like a windmill. I only do one of these morning and evening. That’s all it takes for me to stay pain free.

  4. You are right, I need to see a picture. I am trying to do this but it feels awkward.

  5. Oh how very excellent! Congratulations and well done, Dr. Zody. You should do a post on this exercise. I’ll bet there are a lot of readers who would appreciate it.

  6. Once a teacher, always a teacher! Glad your advice worked.

Leave a Reply

