More about spam

Remember my rants about Blogger and how I have to be cryptographer to just make a comment on some of the blogs? And many bloggers responded saying that if they didn’t put those captchas on their blog that they would get all kinds of obnoxious spam. I would not like that so I felt some sympathy. Then I look at this report on WordPress that shows in August alone WordPress caught 1133 pieces of spam on this little blog. Thank you WordPress. That alone should make all of you Blogger people switch over.

11 responses to “More about spam

  1. I don’t use the captcha on my blog, and I do have to go in and delete the spam that Blogspot catches, but I rarely have any stuff show up on line. The spam filter continues to get better and better! :-)

    • That going in & deleting thing is something I never even have to think about. Had I not accidentally clicked on askimet stats, I wouldn’t have seen these big numbers. I knew WordPress took care of spam, I just had no idea there was so much.

  2. I agree with DJan. All of the spam comments end up in the correct file, and it’s easy to delete. However, I’ve noticed there’s a cycle…the filters get better, which leads to fewer spam problems for a while, but eventually the spammers figure things out and it becomes a problem again until the filter-writers respond…

  3. You know… it’s true that I’ve never had a spam show up on my WordPress back up blog. I agree with Kathy that the spam does appear to go in cycles. Annoying, but…. sigh…. I’m afraid we live with it.

  4. I don’t seem to get a lot of spam, knock on wood. I have gotten a couple of weird comments over the years which I quickly delete.

  5. I just had to try 4 times to leave a comment on someone’s blog and I just had to laugh when you said ‘cryptographer’!

    • It seems to get harder and harder to decipher those captchas. I don’t get it. Why can’t every blog site work like WordPress and just never have to even see the stuff. It’s all in the background here at WordPress.

  6. I feel the same way. WordPress is great.

  7. Comment unrelated to post, but I got a Jeopardy! question right because of you! I don’t remember quite how the answer was worded but it was about a waterfront roadway in SF and I knew from your blog, “EMBARCADERO!” Alan was impressed.

Leave a Reply

