Replacement time

 

A few weeks ago we left on a Friday morning to go to San Mateo, to babysit the tiny grandchildren. The microwave oven, seen here, was working just fine. Terry heated his coffee, added it to his travel mug, and we were on our way.

Came home late Saturday. Turned on the microwave to heat some soup after our three hour drive, and got a buzzing sound. For anything we tried on the oven, we got a buzzing sound–light, fan, cooking unit. We would be gone the following week so decided to call a repairman after we returned, hoping that maybe the oven would magically fix itself.

Not only had the oven not fixed itself by the time the repairman came, he could not fix it either. The main circuit board had died, after only 10 years. He doubted the availability of such a replacement, and if he could order one, it would take a month to get. Also, it would cost around $400 for all repairs. The microwave only cost around $700 when new.

So, Terry started researching. That was disappointing. They don’t make this particular oven any more. They are also not as powerful. 1000 watts is about the strongest one can find. What happened to 1100 watts? Even the sales lady at Clovis Appliance couldn’t tell him. Finally, yesterday, he ordered the replacement. It’s similar, but not exact. It is a whole lot cheaper. Only around $350. How is that possible? Oh, I guess it’s all made in another country now. GE has abandoned America?

I’ll update you in a week or so when the new one is in place. Until then, I am using my cooktop and oven a lot more. Or just not making certain things, like coconut cream pie. Was all ready to make one yesterday when I realized I needed the microwave to cook the filling. I’ve not done it on the stove in so long, I wouldn’t know how.

10 responses to “Replacement time

  1. Isn’t it amazing how things like the microwave were once luxuries and are now an essential part of our kitchen? Hope the new one works for you. I’ve been thinking of updating mine, it’s about a decade (or two) old now. 🙂

  2. It’s too bad that so many things are, some significantly, cheaper to replace than repair. It feels wasteful somehow, but then if I insist on a repair, I’ve just wasted our money.

    To expound on DJan’s comment, the thing my husband and I marvel at is cellphones, how something that was a figment of the imagination, then a luxury is now something I’ll turn around and go back to our house to fetch if I realize I’ve forgotten it.

    • Helly, I love my cell phone now, too. But not for a phone, but rather as my computer. And camera. I’ve recently put away my lovely little digital camera that I carried everywhere because my iPhone 4 does such a great job taking pictures.

  3. Last time we updated the microwave, the new one was lower wattage than the original, but it cooks faster and better. I think they’d found a way to make them more efficient over the years 🙂

  4. We recently moved into a condo which had a small microwave. Our things had been in storage for 7 years, as we were on the road traveling in our 5th wheel. I asked my husband if we should get out our big microwave to replace the smaller one, and he said that the smaller one is more powerful. I think technology keeps improving everything to be more efficient and smaller!

    • My only concern about a smaller unit would be getting my pans to fit. Terry did make sure that the turntable on the new one was the same as the dead unit as I have pans that specifically fit for certain dishes I make.

  5. the cost of microwaves have come down a LOT in recent years. I got my daughter a really good Panasonic one at Walmart for about $100…it works really well.

Leave a Reply

