It’s the week before Christmas

…and that should explain it all. Every day is chock full of things to do. Today I am going to lunch with my long time friend, the one who helped me clean out the other friend’s house last year. It’s been a rough nine months for her as she has been almost housebound with an elderly husband who has shingles on his head and in his eye.

Before going to lunch, I headed to the credit union for cash and to our storage unit to pick up my big suitcase and to get a box of Terry’s yearbooks. His high school buddies are dying off and he wanted to look up their pictures in the yearbooks. I’m hoping he returns the box to storage as I really don’t want to put books back in the cabinets that I have emptied.

Sunday night we went to a cookie exchange (or a cookie potluck) arranged by a new friend of mine. Each attendee was to bring at least two dozen cookies. I made two kinds-eggnog snickerdoodles and brown butter fruit bars. None of mine won prizes, but that was ok with me. The girl who won the sweepstakes (best story, best presentation, best tasting cookie) really deserved it. And, I got to bring home an overflowing plate of good cookies.

The cookies for the taste test.

The cookies for the taste test.

The sweepstakes winner, Sydni.

The sweepstakes winner, Sydni.

Yesterday and today I am making fudge, something, like the fruitcake, that I have never done before. My mother always made fudge for the holidays, so I decided to try my hand at it. I found the easiest recipe I could, one that did not take a horrendous amount of beating as I have no upper body strength for such a task.

More events coming. But, it is the week before Christmas so it is to be expected.

4 responses to “It’s the week before Christmas

  1. Good luck with the fudge. I’ve never made it myself but have eaten my share of it! 🙂

    • The fudge turned out very well. I was quite pleased and even made a double batch so I could give some away as gifts. It uses marshmellows, so you only beat it until the marshmellows and chocolate chips are melted.

  2. it’s a busy time of year and there are regular errands to run as well!

  3. I’m so glad you’re having such a happy, loving time this holiday season. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

