Playhouses, Silicon Valley style

If you’ve been with me for awhile, you might remember a post I wrote four years ago about the playhouses displayed at Stanford Shopping Center in Palo Alto. these are not your typical playhouses but rather architect-designed models that make adults swoon. The houses are auctioned in June for the Rebuilding Together Peninsula organization, a group who refurbishes the homes of the elderly and schools and nonprofit buildings. Terry has worked with Rebuilding Together San Francisco and seen, firsthand, the good work these organizations do so we have a special place in our hearts for their fundraising.

When we visited Stanford a couple of weeks ago, this year’s playhouses had just gone up. We were delighted with this year’s offerings, which are more outlandish than previous ones. This year there is even a doghouse for those people who don’t have children.

My favorites were the Giants Baseball House and the Ice Cream Shop.

7 responses to “Playhouses, Silicon Valley style

  1. The best playhouse was the one my Dad built for me and my sister. Loved it. The one above with the heart shaped window isn’t bad. Dianne

  2. these are delightful, thanks for sharing, wish I could visit them!

  3. These are awesome!

  4. Wow! I want one! 🙂

  5. Those look like such fun!!! We made imaginary houses outside in the wooden area. However at Grandpa’s, we had a treehouse – – – in a tree over a creek. It was really only a triangular platform with side rails but it was fun.

    • Certainly a lot less costly. I would love to have one of these in our backyard for the grandkids but I know I can’t even begin to compete at the auction. These will sell for $25,000 and up.

Leave a Reply

