That brown sugar cookie recipe

You may remember, dear Reader, that at Christmas past I was trying recipes for a cookie exchange and posted the story here.

With this picture of brown sugar cookies: 20121201-153234.jpg

 

Some of you asked for the recipe, and when I asked permission from Crisco, where I had gotten the recipe, they said, no. Well, today, when I wanted to make these cookies again, I could not find my recipe so checked online to see if Crisco might have put it there, and sure enough, I found this: Brown Sugar Cookies.

I will tell you, though, that I change this around a bit. I use a whole block of Crisco butter-flavored shortening. I like buying the blocks as they are pre-measured and easier to handle. Also, use a bit less flour if you live in a really dry climate like ours. (14 percent humidity here yesterday)

These cookies are so easy to make and they store really well in the freezer. I think if you make large ones, you could put a scoop of ice cream between two for a really good ice cream sandwich.

7 responses to “That brown sugar cookie recipe

  1. These cookies look good. Thanks for commenting on my blog…

  2. I refuse to look too closely at those cookies. I can feel the pounds creeping on, just looking! 🙂

  3. Those sound really good. Thanks.

  4. I think I remember this. I’ll save for next time I’m in cookie baking mode! Thanks.

  5. Hmmm, this looks so delicious! I love it! =)

  6. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Yes, it would be a treat with ice cream, but first I have to put in my Weight Watcher’s recipe builder to check ‘points.’ Crisco is vegetable shorting, so okay there. Dianne

  7. I am the world’s worst cook. Really. I should be in the Guinness book. But this looks so easy, even I can’t mess it up. However, like Schmidley, I’ll have to check on the points value.

Leave a Reply

