Time–it never stops for any of us

Flip the calendar and it’s a new month-AUGUST. The end of summer.

The days have gotten shorter–41 minutes to be exact from the longest. It’s now dark at 6 a.m. and I turned on a lamp at 7:30 last evening.

The leaves on our trees are lightening, no longer that dark green of summer, but getting ready to turn yellow and gold for fall.

School starts in three weeks. The administrators go back next week, the teachers the following, and then on August 19, the kids arrive.

It’s been, as is usual, a fast summer. I wish I could hang on to it for awhile longer. Maybe we’ll have warm weather into November as is often the case around here, especially after the hot summer we’ve had. But even if it stays warm, the light leaves us. The days will grow shorter, dark ’till later in the morning and earlier in the evening.

I have noted another year of living. I’m not fighting this birthday as I was last year. This past year has been one of the best of my entire life, all 61 years, so I’m hoping for the same thing this next year. There are no big plans, just living one day at a time, flipping one page of the calendar each month. Accepting each season as it rolls around.

On Tuesday I took three elderly friends to a nearby town to visit another elderly friend who recently moved there. We had thrown her a huge party before she left town with the idea that once she was settled into her new home we would all visit and take a scrapbook with photos of her life and of the party. So, that’s what we did. I, being the youngest at 60, drove. The others are ages 73 to 85. These wonderful ladies make me realize I have a whole lot of living to do.

8 responses to “Time–it never stops for any of us

  1. No, time stops for no one. Have a wonderful birthday. My early 60’s were in many ways the best years of my life.

  2. Happy birthday to us! I love August! Back here though, it’s rain and storm season! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday Delaine! Stay young at heart like your friends.

  4. Happy Birthday to you! Hope it’s a good one.

    I love the visual of “the youngster” driving the rest of the group.

  5. You are so right about time. I came over here yesterday and about that time a nurse called me to take down my medical history for the cataract surgery next Monday. Why o why can’t they centralize the records. I am so tired of providing the same information over and over.

    Happy Birthday to you. Have a great one. Dianne

  6. Happy Birthday….. Michelle

  7. Ahhhh… Another summer birthday! In fact, we have so many summer birthdays in our family that we’re having a Summer Birthday Party to celebrate all our birthdays at one time. Otherwise we’d be having a birthday almost every other week. Happy Birthday!!! I swear these birthdays are coming faster and faster.

  8. Thank you all for birthday greetings. Having a summer birthday never lent itself well for celebrations. My dad was in the fields, taking care of his cotton; my mother was in the kitchen canning and preserving tons of apricots and peaches from our trees. My mother would usually bake a cake for my birthday, but otherwise, it was a day like any other. I’ve never been one to celebrate my birthday. This year we were in San Mateo to care for our grandchildren. I will post a few pictures next week of what we did.

Leave a Reply

