How soon is too soon?

I haven’t had a wreath on my door since last Christmas. For many years I had a beautiful wreath that hung on the door in spring and summer, with pink roses, but it faded and got shabby, and when we moved to San Francisco for awhile, I tossed it. Then, last weekend I bought that wreath at the Garden of the Sun shop and hung it on the door, thinking it could stay there until Halloween decorations went up. I have a Halloween wreath as well as a door hanging that I alternate on the door each year. There are a few other porch decorations I put out for Halloween, too.

So, when should I put those decorations out? I’m thinking the first of October as the grandchildren are coming to stay with us shortly afterwards, and I think they would enjoy the decor. You know, pumpkins, gourds, things like that. I have a stand for a pumpkin that is in the form of a spooky ghost.

Or, do you think it’s best to wait until a couple of weeks before the holiday to decorate? I really don’t like to rush the season, but I have those cute grandkids…

8 responses to “How soon is too soon?

  1. Children love the holiday decorations. I think Thanksgiving is early enough for Christmas stuff, so Halloween decor would work now. Dianne

  2. I agree with Dianne. Go for it! The kids will love it!

  3. I say go for it!!
    (And also provide photos!) 🙂

  4. Go for it! I had a spring wreath on my front door once and the birds started nesting in it! So since then, I don’t put anything too realistic up. It was actually dried flowers.

  5. It sure doesn’t hurt to put up decorations that herald a change in the seasons and if the kids get a kick out of them, more power to ya! 🙂

  6. The only Halloween decorating I do nowadays is a pumpkin or two on the front porch. The porch faces west and gets the afternoon sun, so if I do it too early the pumpkins rot before the holiday.

  7. Hard to tell, inasmuch as Target, Walmart, Costco, et al, have confused us further with isles already stocked for Halloween, Thanksgiving AND Christmas. My neighbors have already put up their fall decorations, so I say go for it. EXCEPT, I’m traditional in that Christmas goes up the day after Thanksgiving.

  8. I’m still holding off here on this as the grocery stores don’t have their pumpkins yet. Maybe next weekend. That will be a true sign of fall as that’s when I get my flu shot!

Leave a Reply

