More juicing

Although I’ve not written about juicing in awhile, I am still doing it about 5 times a week. Pomegranates have come on the market so I’ve been using the seeds for some lovely mixes. A friend brought me a super ripe cantaloupe so I used that one day this week with the poms and the usual greens.

Yesterday’s mix was basil, lettuce, kale along with pomegranate and pear. Here is what the juices looked like, right from the juicer:

20130921-083306.jpg

And here is the final product after it’s all mixed together:

20130921-083422.jpg

Not as pretty, but very tasty.

5 responses to “More juicing

  1. good idea to juice cantaloupe.

  2. This is very interesting. I wouldn’t have thought the basil would be good in it. You are such a creative cook.

  3. I must get back to juicing. Dianne

  4. What juicer do you use? I ask because I don’t know how you squeezed these pomegranates seeds. Do you have a special method or you have bought only seeds? I’d like to know this tip:)

    • I have a Breville Juice Fountain. I slice open the pomegranate and then I separate the pomegranate seeds under water and then juice about a cup of the seeds with each batch of juice. The seeds will stay fresh for about 5 days in the fridge. The juicer does a great job of extracting the juice.

Leave a Reply

