Six days to one’s undoing

For many years now I have been doing a morning routine of exercises to help with a vestibular issue, sciatica, and spinal stenosis. I also have a set of hand weights that I use to strengthen my upper body. This is a quick routine, taking no more than 10 minutes, and I am faithful to do it as it has been a huge help in all those areas where I was lacking. Until the grandchildren came for six days.

I was so busy taking care of their needs that I neglected this short morning routine. By the time the grandchildren were back with their parents, my sloth was evident. I was waking in the night with my left fingers all tingly, the effects of the flattening spinal cord in my neck. I wasn’t stretching it enough and the nerves were pinching. It’s taken about two weeks to get everything back to where it was before the grandchildren arrived.

Lesson learned: in six days one can deteriorate.

5 responses to “Six days to one’s undoing

  1. Scary isn’t it. I would love to see a video of your workout. dianne

  2. it’s crazy but true how quickly you deteriorate, exercise doesn’t store up in your body!

  3. This is actually good news, since it shows you are successfully managing your therapy. And now you know you need to continue it, no matter what. Glad to know it’s all back to normal! 🙂

  4. I’ve been away from Hawaii for almost a month now. I try to keep this a secret for safety reasons, but I figure I’m safe if I let you know on one of your earlier posts. We’ve been very busy with our little granddaughter and all her lessons. The month has gone by so quickly. I’ve not been able to exercise and it’s going to be hard to get back into shape too.

Leave a Reply

