How to make chicken enchilada casserole

Since I often get requests for directions to make my chicken enchilada casserole, I thought it would be best to put them here and direct those who ask for the recipe to my blog.

I don’t really use recipes, I just cook, so these are very loose instructions and certainly don’t have to be followed exactly but can be changed up with your own ingredients. I have used flour tortillas. I usually layer the dish but have also rolled the enchiladas in the more typical style. I have made less if I had leftover chicken, already cooked, and just mixed the ingredients rather than poaching the chicken. So, feel free to do your own thing.

Start with a bone-in, with skin, chicken breast. This provides good flavor. Poach in green enchilada sauce. I like Hatch brand:

poach chicken

 

I do the poaching in the microwave; takes about 10 minutes. Afterwards I cool the chicken breast and then shred the chicken. I add sour cream, a can of chilies, and a can of cream of chicken soup to the poaching liquid:

filling

 

tortillasI use white corn tortillas, putting one layer on the bottom of the baking dish. Cover with a layer of chile sauce, then chicken. Add another layer of tortillas.

 

 

Continue layering, finishing with sauce and then sprinkle with Monterey Jack cheese:

ready to bakeAt this point I cover with plastic wrap and put in the fridge until I am ready to bake taking the dish out about a half hour before putting into a 350 degree oven for 30 to 40 minutes. Bake until cheese and sauce bubbles.  I serve this with beans and a salad.

 

4 responses to “How to make chicken enchilada casserole

  1. If I were to try another enchilada recipe, I would try yours because only good cooks say, “I don’t really use recipes, I just cook…” Living in Tucson these past couple of decades I have learned that for enchiladas, which I love, I go out. I just can’t get ’em to turn out the way I like. The Hatch Chilis… I love ’em. I’ve been to the Chili Festival in Hatch a couple of times. Great old-fashioned fair.

  2. Looks yummy and your instructions make it sound easy. Dianne

  3. Sounds great. We don’t have the Hatch chili sauce out this way, but I have ordered a Chili Ristra from Hatch New Mexico.

  4. This sounds wonderful! Sigh… I’m the sort of cook that needs detailed instructions. I really admire you talented cooks who know what to do.

Leave a Reply

