New shoes

20131213-105942.jpg

While shopping for shoes for my adopted family, I found these pretty holiday shoes for me. I really couldn’t resist since they had them in my size, I NEEDED a burgundy dressy shoe, and, best of all, the price was $16 since I was buying another shoe.

You may remember, though, that I have a rule: if something new comes in, then an older item must go out. So, what pair of shoes was I ready to toss?

20131213-110652.jpg

This pair has been great, but the inner soles are flattened, the leather is worn, and they are 20 years old. Even the box is falling apart. I noted the price I paid in 1993–$34–so I’ve gotten my money’s worth.

I’ll keep them around for the winter and wear them out in the yard when feeding the birds, squirrels, cats, or raking leaves.

11 responses to “New shoes

  1. Good for you! I love those pretty sparkly things. 🙂

  2. Great shoes, love the color.:) Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great day.

  3. beautiful new shoes! I have to do some serious culling in my house.

  4. Cute! Wish I could wear something like that, but I need a higher vamp.

    • These shoes are only good for parties or for short periods of time. I did wear them for giving tours at Kearney Mansion as the floors can’t handle hard-soled shoes. I wouldn’t wear them if I had to do hours of walking.

  5. I love the new shoes! They’re so fun and I love the color. I like your rule as well!

  6. Lucky you! That is a gorgeous pair and so perfect for the holiday parties too.

    • It was for holiday parties that I was seeking a fancy burgundy shoe. I have a pair of burgundy leather shoes that are great for long treks in the casual clothing.

Leave a Reply

