Thrift store Christmas

Do you shop at thrift stores? I have become addicted to our local Salvation Army thrift store. You will recall that I am buying almost nothing because I have all I need, and I require something to go out before I bring in something new. The thrift store, though, is like a museum of all those cast-offs that others have shed.

I have bought some great toys for my grandkids at Salvation Army and the last time I was there, I got some Christmas items. The store is chock full right now of Christmas decorations. I will never buy Christmas decorations any where else. I can get some great stuff for very little money. Let me show you what I got for $8.

20131223-125026.jpg

I’m going to give this plate to my daughter. She loves hedgehogs.

20131223-125124.jpg

This nativity scene was in its original box, each item individually wrapped. I’ve had it on display at home but will take it to church to use in Sunday School next year. It will replace a broken, crumbling set of characters.

We attended a party this week at a young friend’s vintage apartment. I got this snowman pitcher and filled it with branches of red berries to go with her red kitchen decor.

20131223-125526.jpg

13 responses to “Thrift store Christmas

  1. Those are some great finds!
    When I need anything I always start by shopping the thrift stores. There are three within a five-mile radius of my house, and another two more if I go a couple of miles farther.

    • I have tried Goodwill and been very disappointed. Quite pricey and little variety. I’ve also gone to the Cancer Society’s thrift store but it’s almost all clothing, designer brands, in size 8 and smaller. So I don’t go there very often. I’m not one for the clothing at these places, except to look for children’s clothing my grandkids might wear or if I can find a coat for the school where I am working one day a week. My taste in clothes, and the sizes I require, do not lend themselves well to thrift store shopping.

  2. Wonderful gifts! And so much better than something that costs a fortune. Great post! Merry Christmas to you and yours. 🙂

  3. Trying to comment again here… the last photo is my favorite.
    I shop at Goodwill here, they always have great stuff, well organized and reasonably priced. I almost can’t do retail for anything but food anymore… just makes me crazy!! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog! You’re from San Francisco?! I visited there a couple of years ago and love it. I think I left not only my heart there but a little bit of my soul.

    • We are about 3 hours from SF, and for 15 months after I retired we had a most amazing apartment there. The cost became prohibitive so we returned to our home in Fresno. We still continue to go to SF, though, as our kids live only 40 minutes from downtown SF and it’s an easy BART ride. We plan to be in SF for Christmas Day.

  5. Ever since I started using the Authenticator code I’m having a terrible time writing comments. Sigh…

  6. Oh good grief! Now it works! I wrote that I haven’t been to a thrift shop in ages because we’re trying to limit our buying, but your post has tempted me.

  7. I love your charity shop finds! I pop in whenever I’m going by one and I’ve found lots of fun presents. Best recent find is a gorgeous old yo yo quilt for $6. Most times I go away with nothing, but when you do find something, it’s really fun.

Leave a Reply

