New Year reading

I read this on the first day of 2014. Easy read and really good. Can’t wait ’till the movie opens. I love Meryl Streep who will be awesome in the character of Violet, the mother, wife, sister of a very dysfunctional family. The female characters are all very powerful.

20140102-132106.jpg

7 responses to “New Year reading

  1. It’s on my list of movies. I’ll see anything Meryl Streep is in. I’ve seen the trailers and it looks rather intense. 🙂

    • Definitely intense. Language is pretty bad, too, but it was much like being in the hallways at the inner city high school so I could deal. The screaming in the movie, though, may get to me. I don’t like screaming.

  2. This was our pick for a Christmas movie for my daughter and me and was sad to find it was playing only at the “art theater” in town, a dinky little place we can’t stand. I need my reclining seat and tray table! I’ll catch it next week when it opens “everywhere” as they say.

  3. Sounds like a very powerful movie. I’m still trying to get out to see Philomena though.

    • I would like to see Philomena too but it’s not showing in Fresno. We don’t get a lot of really good movies here. I loved living in SF for that reason. We could walk to a theater that showed all sorts of movies like this. I don’t know if August:Osage County will even show here.

  4. An entire book in one day … commendable!

  5. Pingback: Plays vs movies | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a Reply

