Expectations

Maybe I set my expectations too high.

I expect people to show up when they say they will, do the hard work that is necessary, and be kind to those around them.

I expect stores to be open, well stocked, and offer great customer service.

I expect roadways to be well paved, without obstructions, and to keep traffic flowing smoothly.

I expect cities and municipalities to honestly take care of their citizens with the money paid to them to do so.

I expect neighbors to take care of their property, be friendly and available, if necessary, to help other neighbors.

I expect my church to offer a place of refuge and comfort to sin-sick souls and to teach the word of God to all who enter.

I’m sure I have other expectations, but those are the ones on my heart and mind this morning after reading a post that said I should raise my expectations. I think mine are pretty high, as is. These are also the expectations I have of myself.

 

6 responses to “Expectations

  1. I share all of those expectations, and I also expect that I will be afforded good health. Wish we all could have that as an expectation. 🙂

    • I would like to expect us to eat well and take care of ourselves so as to have good health, but I know that expectation is TOO high. Health issues arise, no matter what we do. I thank God each day for my good health and ask that it continue.

  2. If I didn’t have expectations, I could be a lazy couch potato. But NO WAY ! That’s where my expectations save the day.

  3. I don’t expect acts of kindness and when they happen I am amazed. It helps.

  4. I keep expecting kindness and usually it is shown. It does dishearten me when it’s not there.

Leave a Reply

