Meetup.com

Right after the first of the year, I was quite honored to be listed in Ronni Bennett’s Elderblogger list. I decided to read some of the other listed blogs, and in doing so, read a post about a gentleman meeting other WordPress bloggers in his city. Most of the blogs I read are Blogger fueled, so I was impressed that he actually had gotten together with these WordPressers and wrote that on his blog’s comments. He returned with a message suggesting that I look for WordPress meetups in my area. Having never heard of meetup.com, I checked it out and found quite a few meetup groups in Fresno, including one with WordPress in the title. I joined.

The first meetup for the WordPress group that I could attend was this past Saturday in downtown Fresno at a building that has been remodeled into a startup hub for technology based businesses. One of them is Geek Wise Academy which actually teaches coding and other in-demand subjects so as to get more people in Fresno involved in the technology boom. As I’ve written over and over, Fresno is economically hurting, and although only three hours from San Francisco and Silicon Valley, has not reaped any benefits of the technology boom.

Saturday’s meetup was a presentation by a fellow who designed the Pinterest plug-in for WordPress, Phil Derksen. Nice young man who explained why and how he had done the plug-in and what he is currently doing. He was definitely what I would call user-friendly. However, almost everything he said was over my head. I am a user, not a programmer, developer, or customizer.

Terry went along with me, although he is not a member of the meetup group. Being a computer programmer, he understood a lot more of the presentation and found it interesting. I took a page of notes on my phone, as well as a few pictures, and I may look into some of the terms Mr. Derksen bandied about just so I know more about the subject. I saw it very much as a learning experience, and it certainly stretched my comfort zone.

There is another WordPress meetup next month. I haven’t decided if I will attend. It will be a Q&A session, and I doubt if I would have any reasonable questions to contribute to this group. Of course, maybe the answers others get would add to my knowledge. The lady in charge of the group is very out-going and pleasant. The attendees were more reserved and no one talked with us although I did ask some questions of one lady whom I overheard discussing a high school class for coding. Terry pointed out that computer people are most likely to be introverts, and just as you don’t find many introverts in marketing, neither do you find many extroverts in computer programming. I would just like to meet more WordPress bloggers from the area and sit and chat.

6 responses to “Meetup.com

  1. I am temporarily meeting with no one, until I am 100%well. However, I have met several bloggers over the past few years. Have fun with your group. Dianne

  2. sounds very interesting!

  3. That sounds like it would be a lot of fun. I’ve not heard of any sort of Blogspot meet-up in Hawaii. I’m afraid I don’t know a LOT of bloggers from WordPress.

  4. How interesting. I’d read on your previous post you were attending a WordPress Workshop and wondered what it was. I also checked out Elderblog. It’s great to find other elder blog pages. And surprise surprise … I’m listed as well.

  5. Pingback: Plans go awry | Dkzody's Weblog

  6. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant paragraph to get data regarding my presentation subject, which i am going to deliver in college.

Leave a Reply

