The deluge, the tourists, and Chinese New Year

California is still in a drought situation but for the past two days we have had a deluge here. More rain in 48 hours than the current season had produced up to this date. We are thrilled with the rain, but it is causing some problems such as flooding, and in the southern part of the state, mud slides. Here, in the San Joaquin Valley, the nut and fruit trees have all bloomed and the wind and rain will likely wash way those petals. The farmers are also worried about mold and mildew so are applying sulfur to help retard the growth of those fungi.

I was scheduled to do a tour at Kearney Mansion yesterday, but this time for adults rather than school children. I had never done an adult tour, but I was happy to oblige. I just had to study up on more of the art pieces in the house so  I didn’t sound stupid if asked about the paintings. School children usually ask if Mr. Kearney painted the pictures and I can just say no and move on. Adults will want a bit more information.

This was going to be a big tour-80 adults, two tour busses, coming from the bay area. The Historical Society director wanted extra help with the group so there were three of us in the house, spread out, to tell about various aspects of the house and Mr. Kearney’s life.  The tourists were mostly elderly women. There were about five men in the group. They were all very congenial and I had a great time talking with them. I found that to be an advantage over school children, I could have conversations with the adults.

Fortunately, the rain let up while they were at the mansion. I got pounded with rain as I drove home, afterwards, and the traffic was heavy by 4 p.m., but there were no accidents or street flooding nor downed trees. That is also a problem around here. Trees and limbs get blown over, bringing down power lines and blocking roads. The tourists were to spend the night in town, attending a local musical theater, and then continue on this morning to see the Blossom Trail.

The weather is supposed to be calmer today and Fresno’s Chinese New Year parade is still scheduled to take place around noon in our historic China Town. Terry and I went to last year’s parade (you can read about it here) and had a nice time, but I think we will forego this year’s event and just go straight to our favorite Chinese restaurant and have lunch. I am very much a fair-weather tourist!

7 responses to “The deluge, the tourists, and Chinese New Year

  1. I think I would have done the same thing, just go to the restaurant. I’m glad you have gotten some rain, but did it have to come all at once? 🙂

  2. Thinking about you as the rains come. The crops will have plenty of water this year, although it would be nice if it didn’t all come at once. I sure hope all the droughts are stemmed across the US. We do’tneed more water here, but the storm system is headed here anyway…as snow or sleet perhaps!

  3. good and bad news about the rain. And great about doing an adult tour, it’s definitely a skill you have.

  4. I just googled the Kearney Mansion. What a neat place to work/volunteer!

    • Thanks, Jean, for coming by. Yes, it’s a lovely place and I certainly enjoy going out there in the country as much as I love giving the tours. I often try to channel Mr. Kearney and wonder what he thinks of what has happened to his estate.

  5. I cannot believe the weather you Californians have been getting. Wow! Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

