Plans go awry

I’m beginning to understand why people eat at chain restaurants. Those places have regular hours and you always know what you’re getting. Seems like the local, hole-in-the-wall places that I prefer, tend to do their own thing. Remember how we were planning to go out for lunch at our favorite Chinese restaurant,  a small locally owned, out of the way place? We got there to find they had changed their Saturday hours and no longer did lunch, but rather opened for dinner at 4:30. This was the second time we had tried to eat there on a Saturday. Three weeks ago, after that WordPress Meet-up, we drove across town for a late lunch/early dinner only to find they had closed at 2:30 and would reopen at 4:30. We figured today to be early enough for lunch at 11:45. Hah! Fooled again.

So, I am thinking that perhaps God is trying to tell me something what with this happening 2 times. Fortunately, there is a really good barbecue stand across the street from the Chinese restaurant, and he makes the best pulled pork sandwiches. Not really good for us, but tasty. We drove over, picked up the sandwiches, and came home to eat them as the only place the barbecue stand has for eating is outside, and it is still blustery here.

I’m guessing that I may have to find another Chinese restaurant. We eat out so seldom, and to have this happen twice, and to have driven all the way across town twice, I just don’t think I want to try again. Maybe Panda Express will have to do!

10 responses to “Plans go awry

  1. I’ve gotten to where I always call or check a restaurant’s Website before I go. Saves a lot of hassle.

  2. Just had an absolutely wonderful meal at The Palms Restaurant on Palm Ave. It was for Pat;s birthday and they did a wonderful job of service, ambiance, and especially the food, absolutely top notch!

    • I have driven by the Palms quite often, and even stopped one day to do some photographs in that area. You know, just down the street, is the memorial to the Japanese who were interned at Camp Pinedale.

      • Yes, I know about the memorial. It is on the site of the old Vendo company. That area of office buildings was once an army internment camp, and then the setting for Vendo, which had a huge building in the back for manufacturing. The memorial is near the old office building, the first place I worked

        They found, several years ago, a completely buried army fuel truck with about 300 gallons of gasoline still in the tank on back!

  3. Yes, you can count on the chains to have regular hours and the same, or almost the same food – but I prefer surprises. Well, maybe I should say that I prefer good surprises!
    Thanks for stopping by – I went to your link to the post about the Fresno monastery – how similar to what I saw here in Arizona. However, I do have to say your comment about taking kids struck a chord – I’ve had more than one harrowing field trip in my career!

  4. I hate to admit this, but Panda Express is mom’s favorite place for Chinese food.

  5. Hello there,

    Thank you for dropping by my blog and leaving a comment. Sorry to hear that you didn’t get to eat at the Chinese restaurant due to their ever changing opening hours. I heard from my spouse that Panda Express is quite ok for Chinese food. He ate there when he was in Las Vegas as he can’t do without Chinese food being the typical Chinese man.

  6. Only ate at Panda Express once, but it was tasty.

  7. We’ve got a Thai restaurant that has never yet let us down. Wish you had one, too! 🙂

  8. We once showed up for lunch at a local restaurant in our small town to be greeted by the owners sitting on the porch, telling us that they were out of most supplies and hadn’t made it to the store yet. When my husband went to another local restaurant to pick up vegan pizzas for two guests, he was told by the owner that he had only two tomatoes and if he made those pizzas for us, he wouldn’t have any tomatoes left for later customers. We once made reservations with the owner of a new restaurant for our newcomers club to meet and eat there, and they were closed when we showed up. The same thing happens with the hobby store, etc. We often laugh that if we opened any business and just stuck to our posted business hours, we’d be bound to be a success! However, we have the opposite experience, too: people who know our names, who see us walking up from the car, and have our regular take out meal all packaged up for us before we can get in the door to place the order, and that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

