A reply to a blog post

My blogging buddy, Ricochet, only allows Google peeps to leave comments on her blog. I don’t have a Google account so I am leaving my comment to her last post here:

When I first got my teaching credential, at mid-year, the only jobs available where substitute teacher. I signed on and was picked up for a long term position at a middle school. The computer teacher had walked away after Christmas break, never to be heard from again. I was really on my own and so decided to teach as I had when doing my student teaching at a high school in the same district.
The principal, back in the late 80s, believed that middle school students should be coddled. As you can guess, I am not the coddling type. She wanted them to have fun and play games. Again, not my style. We clashed.
By the end of the school year, I could see they would be hiring a permanent teacher and it wouldn’t be me. Nor was the middle school principal, who was highly esteemed in the district, going to give me any recommendations.
I was hired, though, for another long term sub position, this time at the inner city high school where my methodology was highly appreciated. I stayed there for 21 years. 
So, you too will come out ahead when it’s all over, and you will be appreciated for what you do. Stay tough.

I figure some of my regular readers will find it interesting, too. Teaching is a harrowing job, at best, but downright impossible in certain conditions.

19 responses to “A reply to a blog post

  1. Coddling students plus parents AND administrators who do not back teachers has discouraged a young teacher in my family to leave the profession.

  2. I would bet that you also made a huge difference in a lot of young people’s lives, too. Congratulations to you for sticking to what you knew was right.

  3. I can sure appreciate this response of yours. I need to write about my first year of teaching. I have promised a post on it. I think you and I have much in common when it comes to teaching styles.

  4. Sadly, as a society we demonize effort. I loved the difficult teachers!

  5. your friend can go to ‘settings’ in blogger, under ‘posts and comments’, under ‘who can comment’ and select ‘registered user(includes openid)’. It would allow you to comment. Then he can edit his profile to include an email address, so you would have the option to send an email. I had the same problem once.

  6. As another teacher who has been around for a few years…started in 1966, still consulting in NYC, I feel we “old timers” have much in common. What we have that the younger teachers don’t have is the knowledge that many of our toughest kids turned out just fine.I wish we could tell the younger teachers, who are all under such unbelievable pressure, to trust their instincts and keep their sense of humor. It’s very, very hard to be a teacher today, but if they stick with it, they too will find their rewards.

    • The teacher to whom I responded is much like us, been around for awhile and knows what works and what doesn’t. It seems that every few years, a new method comes along that is going to save all students, and even though we have tried and true methods of working with students, new administrators come in and say, “do it this way or you are gone.” That was one reason I left teaching when I did.

  7. I got this web page from my friend who informed me on the
    topic of this site and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative articles
    at this place.

  8. My partner and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I should check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to
    finding out about your web page again.

  9. When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the image of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    So that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

  10. Hi to every one, the contents existing at this web page
    are in fact amazing for people experience, well, keep up
    the good work fellows.

  11. It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before finish I am reading this
    great piece of writing to increase my experience.

  12. It’s amazing designed for me to have a web page, which is
    beneficial in favor of my knowledge. thanks admin

  13. Excellent blog here! Also your website lots up very
    fast! What host are you using? Can I get your associate hyperlink on your host?
    I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  14. It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I am glad
    that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us
    informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  15. That is a good tip especially to those fresh to the
    blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  16. Everything typed was actually very reasonable.

    But, think about this, what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added a post
    title that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean A reply to a blog
    post | Dkzody’s Weblog is kinda vanilla. You should glance at
    Yahoo’s front page and see how they create post headlines to grab
    people to open the links. You might try adding a video or a pic or two to get people excited about what
    you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might make your blog a little
    bit more interesting.

  17. I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys
    to my blogroll.

  18. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve
    discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I am hoping to contribute & help other customers
    like its aided me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

