Bad eating is bad for one’s health

And in particular, MY health. That last post should have been the warning shot, but did I listen, oh no, I just munched away, happily ingesting fat. Then, since it was Easter, and I had strawberries, and I love cake, I made these amazing cupcakes with strawberry frosting. The cupcake recipe made 12 cupcakes; the frosting recipe enough for, oh, 36 cupcakes, so I put the leftover delicious fat and sugar in a bowl, and would eat a spoonful every now and then. It was just so good.  And the whole time, I could hear that voice saying, this is so bad for you.

Then (again I’m going to blame Easter) I fixed a lovely rib roast and scalloped potatoes. Nowhere does the Bible say the resurrection was celebrated with fat and sugar. But there I was, knee-deep in all of this good tasting food that was not good for me. I just kept sticking it in my mouth. Until…

Until…the pain started. During the night. I was miserable. One night, two nights, three nights. I knew what was causing the problem and the only way to stop it was to stop eating like I have been for the past week. I couldn’t even get out of bed this morning until 8 a.m. Terrible behavior leading to worse behavior.

Today it has come to a screeching halt. Back to my plant-based diet. Even that bowl of strawberry frosting will not lure me in to its sweet delicious creaminess as I remember the misery from which I have come. All that fat and sugar is just not worth feeling so bad.

13 responses to “Bad eating is bad for one’s health

  1. Hahahaha! I feel your pain. Trying to shake that strawberry shortcake with homemade whipped cream. Sticking to me.

    • On top of the strawberry cupcakes was the rib roast. I cannot eat but a bite of meat, and I know it. This was an excellent roast. My husband, who can eat this stuff and be fine, will finish it off. No more for me. Same with the strawberry frosting.

  2. I feel your pain also. I am dealing with so much post surgery, but none of it has been made easier by eating poorly. I have been wiser than usual. I hope to be back on track a bit more by next week.

  3. I was so feeling like eating birthday cake today, although it’s nobody’s birthday. It is so hard to eat well, being bad sounds so delicious!

  4. I am fortunate to have a sugar reaction that occurs right after I overindulge. Then my heart pounds, I break into a sweat, and I am miserable. Makes it MUCH easier to stop sooner rather than later. 🙂

    • Had that heart issue Monday night. Pretty scary. Knew then that I had overindulged. But what did I do on Tuesday, go off and buy some really good candy. There are so many good things to eat around here.

  5. I tried to help myself out by only buying a little (good quality) chocolate, which we finished yesterday. However, today my boss brought me a cookie from one of the mall stores. I didn’t feel very good after I finished it.

  6. Maybe you should refrain from binge-eating and just eat everything in moderation. A little of everything won’t hurt you. But a lot of something will.

  7. I hear you. Lots of fat and auger do me in. I make a smoothie and think of you!

    • By the end of the day I am feeling much better. Had herbal tea and a few nuts for breakfast; sweet potato for lunch; ramen soup with peas for dinner and an apple for dessert. Much better food for my body.

  8. Lol. The holidays have also got to my diet. I am starting to move toward a whole foods diet. I will be shopping mostly for fruits, veggies, chicken cutlets and cooking them naturally without the use of fats. I think it is time. I have done it in the past and it feels really good on the body.

  9. I too feel your pain, both literally and figuratively. I’m not a big meat eater, but I indulged in her famous Baby Back Ribs at my daughter’s on Easter and my stomach has been a mess ever since. I don’t think the very sugar rich peach cobbler helped any, since I’ve been mostly sugar free for a while. Hopefully, we’ve both learned our lesson.

Leave a Reply

