Creamy asparagus soup without the cream

Terry and I like to come home after church on Sundays and have a bowl of soup and perhaps a slice of french bread or a warm tortilla for lunch. It’s usually a minestrone or bean soup. Sometimes it’s tomato. Tomorrow it’s going to be creamy asparagus. I made this soup a week or so ago as it calls for leeks and we’ve been getting lots of those in the CSA box. Asparagus is now in season, too. Since I don’t do dairy, I’m always on the lookout for recipes that mimic those with milk. This one was in our local paper a few weeks ago and is made by the local Whole Foods chef, Hillori Hansen. Terry says it’s probably the best soup I’ve ever made. I won’t go that far, but it’s really good. Good enough to make a second time.

Melt 2 Tb butter in a large pot over medium heat. Add one sliced leek (white part only) and cook until tender. Add 2 cloves of garlic, chopped, and sauté until fragrant. Add 4 cups broth (can be veggie or chicken), 1 peeled and chopped Yukon gold potato (also coming in the CSA box), 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp dried thyme, and a pinch of nutmeg. Bring to a boil. (I keep the heat on medium during this time) Add 1 bunch of asparagus, stems snapped off and discarded, spears cut into 1 inch pieces. Cook until potatoes and asparagus are tender. Remove pot from heat and let cool. Puree in batches in blender or food processor until smooth.

At this point I refrigerate the soup and reheat what we need for each meal. We got two meals out of the last batch.

5 responses to “Creamy asparagus soup without the cream

  1. Yum! This sounds delicious. I am going to try it.

  2. sounds delicious! ok I’m hungry. It reminds me I have a split pea veg soup recipe to try and I have all the ingredients.

  3. Oh, this sounds absolutely scrumptious. I’m going to make it! 🙂

  4. And it is still soup weather here too

  5. Oh yum! I love asparagus and I love soup. This is perfect.

Leave a Reply

