Life after college

It has been 40 years since I graduated from college. Same for Terry. Although he is older than I am, and he started college before I did, he did not file for graduation until I prompted him to do so when I filed. We had only been dating a few months at the time of graduation, so I’m kind of surprised he took my advice. He had all of his units, though, and I could see no reason to delay the filing. As for the actual graduation ceremony, I participated; Terry was a spectator. Maybe that was foreshadowing to our future. But that’s another story for another time.

When I graduated that June in 1974, with a BS in marketing, I had a job waiting with a publishing company. I had dreamed of a job with a real estate firm in the Bay Area, doing research for planned communities, but Terry told me he had no intentions of leaving Fresno so I decided to stay here, too, thus taking a job with a local company that published agriculture magazines. Who knew, 40 years later, that I would be a retired school teacher. Certainly not I.

This morning, at church, I saw a lady whom I have known for decades. We exchanged a few pleasantries, and when she asked what I had been doing, I mentioned that I had just taught the Sunday School class for the two and three year olds. She laughed and said, “you will always be in children’s ministry of some sort.” I think God is chuckling, too, because even though I have that degree in marketing and worked for 13 years in publishing and sales, the majority of my life has been spent teaching children. Now that I am the retired school teacher, it seems that my attention has shifted from high schoolers to younger and younger children. I certainly wouldn’t have guessed any of this 40 years ago.

9 responses to “Life after college

  1. I bet you’ve used your marketing skills plenty of times in the classroom šŸ™‚

    • I actually taught marketing to high school students for 20 of those years so I really did use my knowledge. Selling yearbooks challenged those skills, too.

  2. I think it’s wonderful. I would have loved to have you as my Sunday School teacher. I’m sure there are plenty of others who cherish having had you as their teacher!!!! šŸ™‚

    • Thank you, DJan. I hope these little ones will remember good times at Sunday School. We made Jesus sandwiches yesterday. Each tiny child was given a tortilla, a popsicle stick, peanut butter and told to spread the love of Jesus around their tortilla, then we gave them jelly to spread on top of the peanut butter, spreading more love. Afterwards, they could roll up the tortilla and have their snack. They all seemed to love doing that.

  3. You are an inspiration. I will be celebrating my 50th high school class reunion (class of 1964) in September and am looking forward to seeing my old classmates. I celebrated my college reunion (class of 1968) in 2008.

    • I’m often envious of those who keep in touch with classmates and attend school reunions. I went to my 10 year high school reunion, the only one my class ever had. We were not a sentimental bunch, and after high school we seemed to have gone our own ways, making new friends, and not keeping the old.

  4. The great fun of this stochastic process we call life is not knowing where the goal post is. Did you know you would also become a techno maven?

    • I just had the conversation with a fellow my age about how we wish we had computers and Internet when we attended college. We would have been so much smarter! He and I both used a manual typewriter throughout our undergrad years and he even did a master thesis on his.

  5. You and Terry have had a wonderful life together and I’m glad he takes your advice. You were and are a terrific teacher!

Leave a Reply

