A new level of pain

Having suffered with migraines for over 40 years, I know pain. About 20 years ago, a new medicine, Imitrex, was developed for migraines. It works for some, not so much for others. I was one of the fortunate ones for whom Imitrex works and I have found that if I take it the moment I feel the pain coming on, I can pretty much alleviate all the pain. I still, though, commiserate with anyone who has those horrible headaches. It is a pain like no other.

Even childbirth, 36 years ago, was not as severe as a migraine. And that was with no drugs. Everyone was into natural childbirth back then and drugs of any kind during labor were verboten. A few of my friends ended up having drugs and their babies slept all of the time. Not mine. She never slept until she went away to college. I always said that if I was to have another baby, there would be drugs. Not so much for my pain, but so that the baby would be born sleepy!

Getting back to pain, I have now found a pain that is on the same level as a migraine. Bursitis. Such a funny sounding little word. Really doesn’t sound like much but I am currently in excruciating pain from this malady in my heel. It all started out with a mild discomfort in my foot on Sunday. On Monday it hurt when I walked but not enough to stop me from doing things. By Tuesday each and every step was agony. I was able to get a doctor’s appointment for late in the afternoon and slowly limped into the office.

I was overjoyed to learn that my superb doctor had survived her own medical crisis and was back at work having been gone for almost a year. She diagnosed the heel pain as bursitis, sent me for an x-ray, and gave me an injection of pain medicine. My blood pressure and heart rate were the highest I had ever experienced. Turns out, severe pain causes that.

The pain shot wore off about 3:30 am and I awoke again in pain. I have taken a couple of Aleve and am icing the ankle/heel. The pain, though, is still there. I am hoping the doctor calls later today with a longer lasting solution for this problem. I have a busy two weeks coming up with my grandchildren. This is no time to be debilitated with pain and inability to walk. I have to be ready to run by Sunday.

7 responses to “A new level of pain

  1. oh dear so sorry to hear about this, hope it improves soon!

  2. I’m so sorry. I get bursitis in my hip. I’ve had it for years. When I have a flare up, I can’t sit on that side, or sleep on that side. Thank heavens I’ve never had it in my foot. That would really be terrible. Rest up so you can run later.

  3. Oh, gosh, I hope you get over this soon. It’s awful to be laid up like that. I’ve never had bursitis that I know of (knock wood) but plenty of other maladies. 🙂

  4. “Not mine. She never slept until she went away to college.”

    Hahahahaha! Even in pain, you have a sense of humor. Seriously hope the pain subsides for you. Not having your feet work is most difficult, I know. Onward to killing this beast!

  5. Not to sound corny, but I feel your pain. Although I suffer from them, if I get the meds in time, migraines don’t usually keep me awake at night, but bursitis does. That and the knee pain from bone missing its cartilage in my right knee, Sciatica in cold weather down both hips from Spinal Stenosis, and the Fasciitis in my left heel.

    I had three kids, all born in military hospitals, that was truly an ordeal. Fortunately, I just popped them out, barely making it to the hospital with numbers two and three.

    Old age isn’t for sissies.

  6. Hope you feel better soon. Cortisone shots have helped me.

  7. Oh dear, I hope you find relief soon. I’m so sorry to year about your pain!

Leave a Reply

