The middle of summer

Here I sit, on an absolutely beautiful Saturday morning, smack-dab in the middle of a hot, dry summer in the San Joaquin Valley. The air is cool this morning. There is a slight breeze. Yet, I am indoors, on the couch in the living room to be precise, with my feet propped up, looking at a very thick layer of dust on the furniture. I should be dusting, but I am instead, recuperating.

After getting a few loads of laundry done yesterday, and a very light dinner cooked, I could feel my heel begin to twinge. When I got up this morning, the twinge was a bit more of a pain so I used the great NSAID gel the podiatrist prescribed and that my pharmacist said was the best stuff known to mankind. I’ve been fortunate this week to not need to use the stuff, but all the activity with the grandchildren has caught up with me. The gel worked its magic, just like the pharmacist said, and I was able to run errands.

Upon returning home with a carload of groceries, Terry told me to put my feet up and rest while he finished vacuuming. He had already vacuumed the garage and kitchen while I was away. The chores are nagging at me. The dust, a patio of toys, the laundry, a new recipe. Oh well, for now, in the middle of the summer, on a Saturday morning, I will sit with my feet up and live in blogland for awhile.

6 responses to “The middle of summer

    • I’m trying, but it’s hard. I did make a pasta sauce with a whole bunch of veggies we had from last week’s CSA box. More laundry, too. But, I’m sitting in between.

  1. you do have to slow down Delaine, but these NSAIDs have made strides.

  2. One of the reasons I keep my meds to a minimum: it’s so easy to overdo when you don’t feel the pain. I do hope you continue to take it easier. 🙂

    • You are right, DJan, the pain killer can make it TOO easy to keep going. I am keeping that in mind as I plan my work each day. Terry reminds me, too, to stop and rest. I want this heel to get healed so that I can resume my normal level of activity starting in September.

  3. Knowing the pain of plantar fasciitis in my feet, I can be quite sympathetic to your situation. Rest with feet up, ice, massage in good drugs are all very favorable. And the helpful spouse is best treatment of all 🙂

Leave a Reply

