Willing to change plans

I started out today with plans to do a little shopping at Barnes & Noble, Target, and Sephora.

A text message from a friend who has a garden with the offer of tomatoes made me switch my plans to shopping for chile sauce ingredients. Onions and garlic were easy to find but the chiles proved elusive. I wanted a green wax type that I used last year. There were none at the farmer’s market nor at Whole Foods.

I did find a different pepper that would work-a red frying pepper. I have used the green ones in pasta sauce many times but had never seen red ones until today’s stop at Whole Foods.

Five pounds of tomatoes, two pounds onions, a pound of peppers cooked with vinegar, sugar, and spices produced five jars of sauce:

20140723-192906-70146413.jpg

Tomorrow I will return to those earlier shopping plans. Let’s see how far I get

3 responses to “Willing to change plans

  1. Yum! Those sure look good. I hope the red peppers worked out. Sure seems like it did. 🙂

  2. a worthwhile change of plans, good friend too!

Leave a Reply

