The lazy days of summer are about to end

My newspaper snafu has been fixed after Terry came home and made a few phone calls. He had never received an invoice for this year’s subscription. No one could tell ME that the bill had not been paid, just that we weren’t in the system. Within an hour of giving his credit card number, I was able to open the bookmark and read Friday’s news. Took me all of 20 minutes.

Previously I wrote that I am embarking on a couple of new adventures. One is writing posts for the historical society’s blog that will be published on their website. I have submitted two, one about the view from Kearney Mansion’s porch and another about Mr. Kearney’s office and the estate office, which is in the mansion. I am currently writing about water rights and drought and will be starting a fourth about the servants who worked at Fruit Vale Estates, Mr. Kearney’s farm. I will let you all know when the blog goes live.

Last week I signed the final paperwork for my position as a school chaplain. This is a very unique position and is done through the Fresno Police Department. Just as for a police officer, I have gone through an intense background check. This all started in April. I had to submit a 29-page application that asked the darndest questions. Took me a couple of days to get through it. My friends and neighbors were questioned. People with whom I’ve worked were contacted. My credit score, driving record, and school transcripts were inspected. On Wednesday I was fingerprinted. I may have to redo that part because my right thumb is ‘well worn,’ as described by the city hall clerk who does the fingerprinting.

School starts here August 18 so I go for training next week. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m anxious to meet the other applicants.

9 responses to “The lazy days of summer are about to end

  1. I will be very interested in learning about the school chaplain position and how you fit into it. It’s a good fit from what I know about you. 🙂

  2. Wow lots going on in your life!

  3. Sounds like a very interesting activity. I’m assuming this is for a public school? I’m surprised they’d allow something so overtly religious.

  4. Delaine try the grass jelly drink with soymilk as that is the orig recipe. The jelly gives it texture I think.

  5. A worn thumbprint! Imagine that.

  6. Just entered the blogging world again, while it looks like you’ve re-entered the teaching world? Thought I would get to this earlier in the summer, but now the summer’s almost gone. Where DOES the time go?

    • Nice to see you are back. I’m not going back to teaching as we knew it. The chaplaincy is a volunteer position, 5-10 hours a week. I will be assigned to a school and will teach a short class, I believe once a week, about resiliency. Although the school superintendent wants a chaplain at every school in the district (that would be over 100), right now the 10-14 who are onboard are at elementary schools so that is a a different venue for me.

  7. Wow! You are sure busy and will be even busier! Being a school chaplain sounds like a huge responsibility. It’s great that they’re doing a careful background check. A worn fingerprint? Oh my!

Leave a Reply

