Evening at home

You may remember a post from a few weeks ago where I wrote about avoiding evening events due to the fact I become an introvert after 4 pm. I was wondering, then, about attending a retirement party. Well, I sent a card and my regrets. I knew I would be very uncomfortable so decided to not put myself in that situation.

Tonight I am home while Terry attends a fund-raising event. In past years we have attended together as the attendees are some of my favorites with whom to chat. Terry will be taking photos of the event for the host organization, and I know there will be questions as to where I am. I just didn’t feel energetic enough to be social tonight. I seem to be fighting a cold that I may have caught from my granddaughter who was sneezy and feverish last week.

I don’t want any extra stress right now as I have a full week coming up. Every day next week is fully packed with activity. I will be answering phones at Kearney Mansion three days as it’s the week leading up to the Civil War. They wanted me to be there every day, but one day I do Good News Club and on another day I have a doctor’s appointment and a meeting with the teachers at the school where I am chaplain. Yes, I finally heard from the principal. She now has a full-time vice principal and time to breathe. I grocery shopped today, buying items that Terry or I can quickly make at the late end of a long day.

So, while Terry dressed up to go out, I am propped up on the couch, watching TV, in my jeans and bleach-spattered t-shirt. The cats and I will have a quiet evening.

8 responses to “Evening at home

  1. I belong to a discussion group that has been meeting on Sunday evenings. We switched our time to Thursdays at noon. What a difference. We were so bright and lively at our meeting today. It does make a difference. The previous evening I had to be in attendance at a political event, and I just sat there, bored out of my mind. What you say makes me realize that a lot of my negative feelings about evening events are because I’m tired.

    • My brain and body just quit after a certain time. I’m usually an extrovert, but by 5 pm, I’m withdrawn and it’s hard work to muster the energy to talk with others. If the others are outgoing and receptive, then I can handle it, but I am finding more and more people are introverts and I’m doing the work to keep the conversation going, no matter what the time of day. That, or I’m running in the wrong circles.

  2. Pingback: Evening at home | The blog of COOPER APPAREL. Find us at https://www.facebook.com/Coopertees

  3. I am an extrovert, but I’m usually done by 8:00pm and going out in the evenings is not my favorite thing. I am often snoozing in my chair by early evening, too. Hope you don’t get sick, Delaine. That’s never fun. 🙂

    • Thanks, DJan, for the well wishes. I seem to be okay now. A little bit of snuffles, but I feel fine. I sucked on zinc lozenges and took echinacea which seemed to do the trick.

  4. My sentiments, exactly.
    Hope you feel well enough to attend those events next week.

  5. Eight is my cut off time too. But I am never quite happy when home alone after this long marriage to G. I’m spoiled, of course, with his company.

    • Terry and I are seldom not together in the evenings now, but when we first moved in here, Terry worked evenings at JC Penneys and often didn’t get home until after 10 pm. Even then, I was in bed and asleep by the time he got home as I had to get up and be at work at 8 the next morning.

Leave a Reply

