Retro Christmas treat

Does anyone remember making haystacks with canned chow mein noodles! What was that, like 1960 when those were popular? Around the same time as Chex mix and Rice Krispie treats?

I saw a recipe for haystacks on Pinterest (I know, I said I was banning all Pinterest recipes, but I gave in; after all it’s the holidays). All I had was the noodles and peanut butter but felt that was a good start. I got butterscotch chips and miniature marshmallows on one of those many trips to Target. Even got a discount on the marshmallows with my Cartwheel app.

These are super easy to make with the invention of the microwave which wasn’t around in 1960.

Microwave 1/2 c butterscotch or chocolate chips with 1/4 c smooth peanut butter for 1 minute. Add 1/2 c miniature marshmallows and microwave another 25 seconds. Stir in 1 c chow mein noodles. Drop onto parchment lined cookie sheet. Stick in the freezer to set for about 5 min. Makes 12.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1c0/2082342/files/2014/12/img_8106.jpg

5 responses to “Retro Christmas treat

  1. The picture sure brings back memories! I’ve got no interest in making them myself, but I enjoyed the trip down Memory Lane. 🙂

  2. I’m not much of a butterscotch person, but if you use chocolate chips instead? YUM-O!

  3. I missed those completely. Mother never did anything like that….not even chex mix. I feel cheated…those are great.

Leave a Reply

