It’s Christmas break

Never thought I would be saying those words again! When I retired from teaching at that inner city high school, I thought my holidays would no longer revolve around the school calendar. Guess that was wrong. Here I am, five years later, glad that school is out for the next three weeks. Ah, Christmas break.

This was an extremely busy week, with something happening every day, and a few days with more than one thing happening. Like yesterday. I was up early for a 7 am meeting, did my chaplaincy duties as well as passing out gifts at the school, then went out to a Christmas party in the evening.

Waking up this morning, I felt relieved to know that all my obligations have been fulfilled and now I get to “play” for the next three weeks. Well, actually two weeks. Although their are three weeks of school holiday, the third week will be filled with grandchildren. Our daughter isn’t putting on a Christmas pageant at her church this year so we won’t be needed to care for the kids while she works on the big show. For the first time in many years we will be home for Christmas. That’s the reason I got a tree this year.

I did a bit of shopping this morning then came home to make bean soup, cookies, and enchiladas. It feels nice to have lots of time to cook and just sort of goof off. That’s the nice thing about Christmas break. Just like all those years ago.

6 responses to “It’s Christmas break

  1. It’s nice to relax, isn’t it?

  2. I’m so glad you’re having the chance to simply play for awhile. BTW, I always enjoy your comments on “Time Goes By.” I read it every day, but you also comment much more than I do. It’s a valuable resource, isn’t it? 🙂

    • I enjoy that blog and the commenters are just great. Although I read it every day, I don’t always comment. So many times I am pushed for time. Same goes for your blog. I love so many of your photos but just don’t have the time to post a comment.

  3. I would like to see your tree.

  4. Merry Christmas, have a wonderful break!

Leave a Reply

