It’s been a good year

Now let’s bring on 2015. I’ve gotten my new calendars ready to hang.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1c0/2082342/files/2014/12/img_8210.jpg

I have a desk calendar that has 3 years in one book. My yearbook representative keeps me in stock for those. I will be disappointed when he retires and no longer offers that perk. I like looking back at what was going on the previous year when making new plans. Told you I’m calendar obsessive.

The second calendar hangs on the wall in the office, above my computer. I can sit and stare at it when I’m at a loss for what to write or do next.

I’ve had a Georgia O’Keeffe calendar in that spot each year for over 10 years, but was unable to find one this year so will use the one sent to me by Child Evangelism Fellowship, the parent organization for Good News Clubs. Each month will show a child’s face from somewhere in the world and will be a good reminder to me to pray for children everywhere, not only those with whom I work.

The third calendar hangs by the back door, in the kitchen. I ponder it as I’m cooking, or have visitors who want to make plans, or when I call for my hair appointment. This is the fourth year I’ve purchased the calendar from Whole Foods. It is a fund raiser for their international work with micro funding of small entrepreneurs. Each month highlights a small business. Again, makes me think beyond my own neighborhood.

I’m definitely looking forward to 2015. Wishing all of my dear Readers a very good year, wherever you may be in the world.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1c0/2082342/files/2014/12/img_8221.jpg

10 responses to “It’s been a good year

  1. Yes, let’s hope that 2015 is a really great year. Wonder picture of you! 🙂

  2. All the best to you, as well.

  3. Seasons Greetings, and Happy New Year to you too!

  4. I’m a bit calendar obsessed myself. I like the good old-fashioned paper calendar because I have a more global sense of time that requires me to see the month, the week, the day as a whole entity. I like to have a visual of the week so I know what my obligations are. I also like calendars because they remain a permanent record of how I spent my days during the past year.

    Have a wonderful new year.

  5. I recognize that three year calendar. When I worked for a yearbook company, I had them as well… they were very coveted by my advisers. I still have my old calendars and it is certainly interesting to go back and look at everything I did back then. Now my calendar is online.

    • Ooooh, you worked for Jostens? My rep was just the best. After I left the school, another teacher took over yearbook and ‘fired’ Jostens so they could get the book done cheaper. Cheaper is not always better.

      • Agreed that cheaper is not always better. Jostens always provided great customer service when I was an adviser and I tried to continue that as a yearbook assistant. I worked with the local rep and helped him with several of his schools for six years before I had to go back to teaching. I learned so much as an assistant – many of my computer skills are thanks to working for Jostens – especially using inDesign and Photoshop.

  6. I found a perfect moleskin several years ago which has the week on one side and note taking on the other. I must take some photos of the calendars I have – an Irish one received from a friend every year and a handmade one from an artist friend which is so golden this year I want to fall into it. All joy and peace for 2015.
    XO
    WWW

  7. Love your photo, Delaine! I’m also a big calendar person. The Georgia O’Keeffe calendar really adds color to your wall. Gorgeous! I’m so jealous of your three year calendar! I’ve only ever found two year calendars.

Leave a Reply

