Making new friends in new places

It has been a year of change. What with a new church and the new position as school chaplain. I never would have guessed, at this time last year, that these two events would take place. Both major shifts in my life.

Leaving a church where we were members for almost 40 years was really hard, but it had to happen as we were both so unhappy with what was happening. Terry and I both feel so joyful with the new church. I had forgotten how wonderful it could feel to attend church.

We had so many friends in that church, some people who I still see and some with whom I maintain a modicum of contact. However, the new church is giving us reason to make new friends. Yesterday was a quarterly event called “dining out.” A group goes to a nearby restaurant for lunch after church. Not really any big deal, but it was our first time to attend, and we had a delightful time getting to know new people. God puts amazing people in my life.

You may remember the story of how I first heard about school chaplains, at lunch during a city conference. I just happened to sit by a fellow who was a school chaplain in a neighboring district. Until then, I’d never heard of such a thing. Yesterday I sat next to a fellow who has just retired as a hospital chaplain. He was quite interested in hearing about the school chaplain position and what was happening in the local school district.

I also chatted with a young man who is involved with a group in Fresno which is trying to to stop a slumlord. I have been following their work for the past year and was quite interested in hearing what this fellow had to say in the way of follow up and what plans are being made. The slumlord owns over 4,000 properties in Fresno, all low income and over half are boarded up and vacant, causing problems for neighborhoods. Many of these properties are in the area around the school where I am chaplain.

Change is good and I am excited to see where God takes me this year and who I get to meet and befriend. I call it joyful anticipation.

10 responses to “Making new friends in new places

  1. It’s good that you now belong to a church you like. We need to make new friends, also, like you.

  2. Great you found some peace in 2014. Hope your New Year is even better.

  3. This is simply wonderful, and I’m so glad to hear that things are happening to make your life so exciting. Change is good, especially when it leads us to places we were meant to go all along. 🙂

  4. Change is good, though hard. Happy New Year Delaine, all the best for 2015!

  5. Two of our good friends have followed their son to a new church. The one they attended for 50 some years weighted heavily on them. One cannot be joyful when the core of ones spirituality is all negative.

    Glad all this change happened. BTW, did yyou know that baseball teams and football teams have chaplains too. 🙂

    • It takes all kinds of churches to appeal to a variety of people. The one where we had attended is now attracting a younger group of worshipers which is a good thing. It tends to be a more charismatic service than we felt comfortable but that makes others more comfortable. Change is every where.

  6. Change is good. It is hard to make a change when it comes to leaving one church and finding another, but sometimes, it simply must be done. I find it so interesting to read about your work as a school chaplain. I think that it is such a neat idea. I don’t know if we have school chaplains in Colorado or not.

    Happy New Year!

    • I had no idea there were school chaplains two years ago when I was first introduced to the idea. God just kept leading me along to find out more until I am finally in this position. It all amazes me how this has worked.

  7. Just a thank you for all the gifts you have shared with us this last year. May you all enjoy health and happiness in the coming year.

  8. I really admire you and your dedication to your church and community. Have a happy and healthy New Year!

Leave a Reply

