A day in the city

After depositing the grandchildren back with their parents, Terry and I spent the following day in San Francisco, my favorite city.

I had heard, for years, about Glen Park, a stop along the Bart line from Millbrae. It’s a small neighborhood in the big city. Terry and I got off here and wandered for awhile, stopping at a corner coffee shop. Terry likes to try the locals wherever he goes.

2015/01/img_8439.jpg

We got back on the train and went downtown, having lunch at Nordstrom Bistro with this view;

2015/01/img_8417.jpg

The Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) is being remodeled so we checked on the progress:

2015/01/img_8438.jpg

Looks like it will be awhile before we are looking at art here.

There is a tremendous amount of building going on in San Francisco. Streets are closed. Cranes everywhere. Towers reaching for the sky. More and more people with buckets of money are moving in. The cost of everything has gone like those buildings, skyward.

We made it all the way to the Ferry Building, walking on crowded sidewalks, dashing across heavily traveled streets. I loved every minute.

2015/01/img_8428.jpg

We caught a train at Embarcadero Bart station to head back to the kids’ house for one final dinner to wrap up the holiday season. Now back to normal, whatever that means.

2015/01/img_8430-0.jpg

15 responses to “A day in the city

  1. I feel about Seattle a little like you do about SF: everything is under construction everywhere! I once upon a time loved San Francisco, but I haven’t been there in decades and fear I wouldn’t recognize it. Glad your life is back to normal again. 🙂

  2. I visited San Francisco once, in the company of a friend who went to school in Berkeley. It was a marvelous day — Fisherman’s Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and beautiful architecture everywhere I looked.

  3. I too love that city, so thanks so much for taking us along. 🙂

  4. Hard for me to fathom what has happened to the city where I was born. But it’s still a pretty cool place. Glad you had such a good time there.

  5. My hubby will be in CA in February for work. The plan was for me to fly out to meet up with him at the end of his trip, and the two of us drive up to SF for a 4 day weekend. It looks now like that may not happen :-(. He’ll be in San Diego in March, and I could go meet him then, but I REALLY want to see SF…

  6. I liked SF during the spring, not so much during the winter.

    • It’s warmer in SF than in Fresno so we enjoy going at this time of the year. I really like to go during Christmas, but we didn’t make it this year. As for weather, autumn is the warmest time. Summer is very cold in SF.

  7. what a great day! I’ve been there a couple of times as I have a sister in Palo Alto.

  8. Thank you for sharing your beautiful day with us. We haven’t been to San Francisco in…. gracious!…. about 20 years! Looks like it must have changed a lot.
    Delaine, thank you for your truly beautiful comment today. I showed it to Art and he was really impressed. You gave such excellent advice for maintaining a happy, harmonious relationship.

  9. A fun day. I haven’t visited in a while, although I changed planes there in 2012. Love the chocolate.

  10. This sounds like such a fun day. Lunch at Nordstrom Bistro in Denver is among my favorite things to do. I’ve got to go to San Francisco again. I never did really see the place the way I’d like to have.

Leave a Reply

