About the cabbage soup

Have you ever wanted a sous chef? Or even a prep cook would do? That’s how I feel about cooking. I want someone to make the ingredients I need to make my meals. Some of those items, like stocks and broths, one can buy at the grocery store. Some produce sections even carry chopped onion, celery, garlic. Sliced mushrooms. Stir fry veggies already prepared. But I rarely buy those as I’m usually cooking days later from my grocery store trip.

The cabbage soup that I made on Saturday, in between the cinnamon roll prep, was sort of like having a sous chef. I had leftover beef stock and vegetable broth in the fridge from previous meals. There were three beef ribs that had been roasted in red wine the week before. I had used the other ribs in a beef and noodle dish and the plan had been to use the leftover ribs in tacos, but the cabbage was calling to me to be used.

Two weeks ago we got a GIGANTIC head of cabbage in the csa box. There had been two cole slaws, two cabbage and sausage sautés, and  there was still a big part of that head of cabbage left. Soup seemed a reasonable use for the rest of it. I had a leek from last week’s csa box along with numerous carrots and a bunch of parsley we had also received. I finely chopped the leek, the carrot, the parsley. Added those to the broths, opened a can of diced tomatoes (last one in the cupboard), put the ribs in the pot, too. After that mixture simmered for awhile, I added the chopped cabbage, a spoonful of cinnamon sugar, and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. Cooked it all until the meat fell off of the rib bones, and voila, dinner was served with some french bread. We had sliced apples, again from the csa box, for dessert.

This soup was made easier to prepare because of those ingredients that had already been prepped–broth, stock, ribs, tomatoes. The sous chef needs to come by again to restock my fridge and cupboard.

9 responses to “About the cabbage soup

  1. Sounds really tasty! I’m on my way over. 🙂

    • It’s all eaten, DJan. Today I think I will make a beef stew as I picked up a few pieces of high quality meat at Whole Foods yesterday, and I still have LOTS of carrots.

  2. What fun your meals sound. 🙂

    I made a meat loaf from a friends recipe this week which included making 4 slices of bread into bread crumbs. After chopping, slicing, dicing, and smashing together 3 kinds of meat, and a goodly selection of veggies, I agree with you. It wasn’t a good meat loaf. Please send the sous chef this way when you are done.

    • I use a really good sourdough French bread in my meatloaf. But only hamburger meat. I try for a 15-20% fat content for good flavoring.

      I crumble the bread and stir it into a mixture of dehydrated onions, beaten egg, catsup, soy sauce and a wee bit of milk. Then I mix in the meat, combining it well.

  3. I am hungry reading this. PS What is CSA?
    XO
    WWW

    • community supported agriculture–I subscribe to a local farm who provides a box of produce each week. I pick the box up at a central location, paying a monthly fee. Every week is like Christmas. Today we got celeriac. Makes me be creative.

  4. I love all kinds of soup. The cabbage soup sounds fabulous!

Leave a Reply

