Taking photos

IMG_8263   There have been a few posts lately on other blogs about taking pictures with a smart phone. My iPhone 5s is really the only camera I use any more. There is a point and shoot digital camera I bought before I quit teaching, one that would fit in a pocket when I traveled, but I have banished it to a cupboard drawer. It’s too bulky, in comparison to my iPhone, for daily travels.

Someone said that iPhones didn’t take good pictures in low light. I haven’t had too much trouble. The above photo was taken in our dining area for our son-in-law’s birthday celebration right after the first of the new year. It worked for me.

One of my biggest complaints about iPhone camera versus a ‘real’ camera is when I am taking a photo of something in the distance. Although there is a zoom feature on the iPhone, it is still not as good as my husband’s SLR camera with all the fancy settings and lenses. Of course, even my point and shoot didn’t do as well as his big camera.

The big reason for using my iPhone exclusively–convenience. I carry my iPhone everywhere because I use it as my computer most of the time. Interestingly enough, I am writing this post on my MacBook Pro, but most of my recent blog posts, especially those with photos, have been written on my phone. I can write anywhere I go, not needing to wait until I sit at the computer. The nice thing about the MacBook is that I can sit anywhere in the house or yard with it to work, but I don’t take it on my trips around town like I do my phone.

Because I take the phone everywhere, I am able to take pictures wherever I go. Like today, when I have lunch with the first graders. I will pull out the iPhone, take a picture of my school lunch and upload it immediately to Instagram which also sends it to Twitter and Facebook. Convenient.

7 responses to “Taking photos

  1. A truly wired grandma. I love my iPhone, but do use the ‘real’ camera from time to time when I am out and about.

  2. love taking pics with my phone, you are right so handy, always with me.

  3. I have tried to post from my iPhone, but it always looks a little odd, compared to when I use my computer. I may try it again while I’m in Turkey. 🙂

  4. I don’t own a smart phone, just a cell phone (cheaper).
    I use a Canon PowerShot exclusively.

  5. I’m with you on the iPhone camera. I have an expensive camera that I don’t want to be bothered with. I use my phone. It is so much easier. I have used my iPad to write posts, but not my phone. It is too small for me and would make me crazy to use it to blog, but I use it for everything else.

  6. You can write posts on your iPhone? Wow! I’ve written comments with my iPhone and it hasn’t shown up. I don’t know why. It works on the iPad though. I also cannot revise more than the first paragraph with the iPad. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I need an upgrade. :- )

  7. I’m resisting getting a smart phone but will probably succumb. They are handy. That is a nice photo.

Leave a Reply

