Wow, what a week!

Terry bought new pruning loppers for our Valentines gift!

IMG_8644 We are quite romantic around here.

The next day we went to San Mateo to see our kids.

IMG_8647 This is Pastor Jen telling the children’s story at the church where she has now worked over 10 years.

Jen and Chad were going to a dinner party with friends in Marin so we took Judah and Leeya to dinner and then to our hotel to spend the night with us.

IMG_8651

IMG_8655

IMG_8654 Back to Fresno for chaplaincy duties. I handed out penguin stickers for the story about a very odd bird, Tacky, who saved the day. The lesson being, you can’t judge a book by its cover.

IMG_8692 Friday and Saturday were very long days. I attended a chaplain academy on the other side of town from 8 to 5 each day. It’s been a long time since I’ve “worked” those kind of hours. I have two more, identical days this next week. Then I will get a certificate.

Today, after church, we had “Soup for Lent” lunch where we discussed the devotional for this season.

IMG_8695 I love food and fellowship around the table. The members of our new church are such delightful people with whom to visit and get to know better. This soup lunch will continue through Lent. I signed up to bring chicken tortilla soup on one of the Sundays in March. But after the chaplain academy is finished.

7 responses to “Wow, what a week!

  1. I have an older version of those pruning shears they are amazing. Thanks for sharing your day. Sweet grandkids.

  2. I think it’s a very practical gift, and I love your pictures, Delaine. 🙂

  3. Your church sounds delightful. I assume its nondenominational? Love the Penguin stickers and traveling with the grands.

    • We have found it to be very delightful. It is a Presbyterian church. I was born and raised Baptist, and for the past 40 years Terry and I have been members of an American Baptist church.

      That congregation changed things so drastically that we felt the only thing we could do was flee. It became a rock-in-roll, wild, wild west show. Very dark and menacing. However, I have found that many churches who wish to appeal to young people have turned to this church design. Less Bible, less prayer, less organization.

  4. I wish I could have my grandchild with me and I wouldn’t mind having those loppers too.

Leave a Reply

