Facebook conundrum

Are you on Facebook? I’ve been there for almost six years, joining right after our granddaughter was born because it was the only place where my daughter posted  photos of that new grand baby, and I wanted to see them. Now, I post more photos of the grandkids on Facebook than Jennifer does. She relies on me to tag her in the photos so her friends can see them.

As I was leaving teaching, many of my colleagues joined me on Facebook so as to keep up with my retirement pursuits. It kept me in contact with my school friends, but many have cut back on posting as they are too busy working or doing other things.

Former students have found me on Facebook and asked me to friend them. It’s fun (most of the time) to see what they are doing. Many of them are very successful in living their grownup life. There are a few, though, that make me crazy with their poor decisions. But, that can be said for my older friends, too.

Lately I am seeing health laments posted on Facebook, especially by people who also post photos of really unhealthy food that they have either eaten or want to make. I guess they see no connection between their poor food choices and their poor health.

A newer Facebook friend, whom I had not seen or heard of in over 10 years, has the irksome habit of posting just what they are doing at the moment, like getting out of bed, going to bed, fixing dinner, eating dinner, etc. No other accomplishments, except maybe to tell Facebook what tv program is currently playing.

Why do I stay? Well, some of my Facebook friends are wonderful. They post their fun vacation pictures, cute children photos, funny family stories. They tell me about their accomplishments, which are pretty darn amazing. I can keep up with their fabulous lives, which makes me happy. If I leave Facebook, I will no longer shake my head at people’s poor choices, but I will also miss out on the really good stuff in people’s lives. It is a conundrum.

 

 

13 responses to “Facebook conundrum

  1. I’m on a little Facebook break right now. I found I was checking in too often, and wanted to see how it’d be without it. I find that I miss people, I miss what they are doing and how they and their families look. I don’t miss seeing their food or their cats, really. If I am really uninterested in what someone posts I just unfollow them for a while. When I find myself wondering about them I just click “follow” and peek into their life for a while. I think I won’t quit entirely, there are too many things there that I find interesting. I think I’ve learned to use it a little better. We’ll see – I’m not going back other than a quick peek until the end of March, so. Nice thoughtful post.

  2. I heard there is a way now where you can set FB so that you don’t see people’s posts without having to unfriend them.

    • Yes, and I’ve used that setting on a few people. I’ve also unfriended a few who annoy too much. Foul language, vulgar content, and bad-behavior pictures are automatic grounds to unfriend. Also, when their world view is so far skewed from my own and they constantly bombard Facebook with noxious posts.

  3. I am Facebook, Twitter, Instragram, Pinterest, Vine, etc. I pretty much have all of the social media apps (thanks to my kid and nieces), but I blog more than anything. I get on Facebook only twice a day and that is once when I get up and again when I go to bed. I tweet more than FB, Instagram, etc. Twitter is the place your friend should put their random “daily activities” that are step by step.

    I guess the beauty of it is you can pick and choose what you want to do, how much you use it and how much you can tolerate. Have a great evening! 🙂

    • I love Twitter and use it more than Facebook. I get my news there and I learn more from those whom I follow on Twitter than I ever do from those I follow on Facebook. Facebook seems to silly most of the time.

  4. I just blog, and that’s it.

  5. I like Facebook for the same reasons you do, Delaine: I get to see the pictures of my family members far away, and there are times when some posters get tedious. I just hide them from my news feed, and all is well. 🙂

  6. I also experience a great deal of ambivalence about Facebook. I’m there and look at it once a day just to see what others are up to. I don’t contribute and try to keep a low profile online, but that’s just my take on social media. I like to communicate with people face to face, or voice to voice. I enjoy the blogs as a medium and I like the types of people I meet on blogs. I practice being nonjudgmental when I look at Facebook. Being an opinionated person, naturally, I disagree with others at times and bite my tongue. They have a right to their opinions and I have a right to ignore them. Being a very private person, the loss of privacy in social media troubles me as does the collection of metadata. Does the world really need to collect information about what I drink for breakfast, etc.? I dislike the notion that the “cloud” contains tons of information about me, about which they can target me with ads about what they think I might want to buy. I have nothing important to hide, but I plan to hide it anyway.

  7. I keep up with kids and grandkids on FB. Also others, cousins, former workmates, etc. Today, there are more oldsters on FB than youngsters.

  8. I use Facebook sparingly, mostly for family and a few friends. I used Chat for a while, but a particularly aggressive relative started making nasty comments, so I don’t look at it any more. Also, one Facebook friend started posting activist slogans and exhortations to join this and send money to that, at the rate of around 20 a day, completely screwing up my account. I figured she had gone around the bend and blocked her. If friends and relatives post stuff I don’t like, I just hit “I don’t want to see this, ” and that takes care of the problem.
    I have a Twitter account with only a few followers. I use it mostly to follow the news.
    Blogging continues to be my favored medium. I like the control over content, the opportunity to explore themes at length, my intelligent commenters, etc.

  9. We can be selective in the face of the endless media storm, I choose my content carefully. I block and un-follow. I tend to dislike impersonal posts – the same old, same old, equivalent of email forwarding without comment. I do have a Twitter account for years but tend to ignore and am typical of my age-group who blog., I guess. I love blogging and reading blogs.
    XO
    WWW

  10. I’ve experienced the facebook conundrum as well. There’s so much good in keeping up with old friends, reconnecting with others BUT then there are those folks I’d just as soon not hear from. I always check pages to make sure the content is not something I don’t want to see before I accept a friend, but still find myself having to hide some content or unfriend. And I’ve had to disconnect Chat so people don’t bother me with conversation. I spend way too much time on FB because of Candy Crush (I’m on Level 483). For that reason alone, it’s a habit I one day hope to break.

  11. I agree. I do like to check out Facebook to see what family and friends are up to. However, there are a number of things posted that cause me to shake my head. I just click on the choice to not see it on my timeline.

Leave a Reply

