When do you sleep?

I know, odd question, that headline, but I’ve begun to think no one sleeps at night. I do. I go to bed, every night, between 8 and 9 p.m. and am asleep within a half hour. When I get up at 6 a.m., my iPhone is full of messages that were sent overnight, while I slept. When do these senders sleep, I wonder? This morning I awoke to a text message sent at 12:12 a.m. asking me to call the person. And, no, they don’t live in a different time zone; they live in the same city.

Maybe it’s the way I was raised. My parents were farmers who literally worked from dawn to dusk. When the day was over, they were tired, and there was no quibbling about bedtime. The whole house went to bed at the same time. During my high school days, I tried to stay up later and watch television, but my parents frowned on it, and since I had to get up when they did, which meant very early, I soon found that staying up late was not a good idea if I wanted to do well the next day in school. Nor was there any “sleeping in” on weekends or during the summer.

When Terry and I were first married, we were usually in bed by 10 p.m., maybe as late as 11 if we watched a television program, and we got to sleep in until 7 a.m. I look back at that time and laugh. No children, no pets, no morning newspaper, no Internet, of course. I left the apartment at 8:10, Terry at 8:30. We returned around 5 p.m.

When teaching I was in bed by 8 and up at 5 every weekday morning. Four thirty on those mornings I had meetings. Often though, I would awake in the middle of the night, paralyzed by what I had to accomplish the next day. Or, I would rehash every moment of the previous day, figuring out a better way of doing things, filled with anxiety at how I should have done it. I hear now of people having similar problems staying asleep. Maybe that’s when they get up and go online. It wasn’t so much of an option in the 90s and early 2000s.

I’m also hearing of more people who sleep during the daytime. A good friend of mine did this after she quit working due to a disability. She had never liked getting up early and she liked staying up very late, like 1 or 2 a.m. late. She always made her appointments in the afternoon, which drove me crazy when I had to accompany her. I ask for the first appointment of the day.

Our granddaughter is much like me. She is up, every morning, by 6:30. She is cheerful and ready to start the day with a bounce in her step. Our daughter, not a morning person, finds that annoying. Leeya often gets up before everyone else at her house and fixes her own breakfast. I laugh about how Leeya and Judah seem to be channeling my parents. Judah likes to grow things and work with mechanical stuff; Leeya is always making something. Like my parents, they stay busy from the moment they get up until they collapse in bed at night. Oh, and they both despise naps.

10 responses to “When do you sleep?

  1. I am also a morning person, and by 9:00pm if I happen to still be in the living room in my chair, I am usually not awake but asleep sitting up. Hubby is a night person and is usually not very good company in the morning. So we laugh about the fact that we spend midday catching up with each other. 🙂

  2. I have become a morning person in later years.

  3. Well, here I am, writing at 3:00 a.m.
    Lol.

  4. I’m a morning person. If I don’t get up early, I feel like I’ve missed the day. Plus I feel groggy and out of sorts if I sleep in. That means I have to go to bet reasonably early. No 11:00PM bedtimes if I’m to feel good the next day!

  5. I sleep fitfully some nights and better other nights. If I go to bed early, I don’t sleep well. David sleeps most of the day. He’s like the dogs. He takes an early morning nap, a mid-morning nap, and afternoon nap and sleeps in his chair most evenings. Then he wakes up and begins bugging me to go t bed at 10:00. I don’t nap. I hate naps. Getting up in the morning is bad enough.

  6. PS After he retired, my grandfather got up and walked to church for the 7 AM Mass every day.

  7. I never, ever go to bed before midnight and usually it’s 1;00 when I have to take a sleeping pill to fall asleep. I get up around 8:00. I like the quietness of the neighborhood after everyone has gone to bed.

  8. I’m generally awake around sunrise, take a siesta break in the afternoon and am up until around 11, enjoying the quiet and dark. That’s life in the tropics.

  9. Here Himself is up at 5, and he is kindness himself to wake me at 0545. Bed is ten, and If I don’t fall asleep after lunch, I take a nap. 9pm bed time when I was a kid. About the same when I was in the army until I joined the base theater troupe. Then bed time was really late…sometimes 3 or 4. You know those theater folks. I won’t tell you my hours during my very wicked days. 🙂

  10. I’ve always been nocturnal, even as a child. I’m on the extreme side, but many people who are in college with me do the same.

Leave a Reply

